We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Zelaka

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Zelaka to your Saves list
Riad Zelaka
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9 Rue Zelaka, Essaouira 44000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 77 Hotels in Essaouira
London
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Nice place to stay, with fab location, good breakfast and clean rooms. Has a computer if you need one and were generally very accommodating. Perhaps a little basic for some people but we felt it was exactly what we were looking for - relatively cheap accommodation in a nice setting.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    18
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
9
35
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
oklahoma city
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

The Riad Zelaka is a perfectly adequate accommodation, but be sure to ask for a room off the street (we did not, and slept little) Non-French speakers will have a difficult time communicating with hotel staff.

Room Tip: Avoid a room on the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
299 reviews 299 reviews
227 hotel reviews
Reviews in 202 cities Reviews in 202 cities
311 helpful votes 311 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

The Riad is on the eastern edge of the Medina by Bab Marrakech, down an unappealing alley. It was a fairly tortuous walk to the centre along the main Medina roads but quicker via Rue Agadir. A very friendly and hospitable proprietor. The breakfast was adequate but nothing more; the coffee was good cafe au lait. The 1st room we had on the second floor was very small and had nothing but beads between it and the toilet. There was no table or chairs and very little lighting. The shower had no water pressure, and the sink barely drained. On the second day we moved to a room that was 50% bigger on the 1st floor which had a sofa and space and a toilet in a closet.
There were lots of electricity sockets and good wifi. The room decor and facilities were very basic. Both beds had lumpy pillows and uncomfortable mattresses. Overall this was much more a budget place than a destination Riad. I should have realised this as it was less than £40 a night.

Room Tip: Get one with a sofa!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

We stayed in the riad for one night in November and found it to be a lovely experience. Having never been to Essaouria before we did initially have some difficulty finding the riad, however the location is excellent, conveniently located within the medina and so it is perfect to relax in after a day of browsing the markets. The owner Laure went out of his way to ensure we had an enjoyable visit to Essaouria, providing us with a map and helping us find our bearings. He also recommended us a variety of restaurants to visit, even offering to walk us there! We were able to leave our luggage there after we had checked out in the morning which enabled us to pick up some last minute bargains. Laure also gave us a wooden keyring on our departure, carved from Thuya wood which was a nice souvenir.
The room was beautifully furnished and very impressive for the price which included breakfast.
I would recommend this riad to anyone looking to spend time in Essaouria and would definitely stay there again if I am lucky enough to return to Morocco.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rennes, France
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

We were in the RIAD for a week early May. It was a nice stay and we keep in memory all the kindness of the morocco people in our heart.
The Riad is quiet with average and large rooms. Breakfast from Hasna and Amina were fantastic !
During our vacation we met people from different country and with the help of Hasna visit places in Essaouira and have fun !
Thank's a lot for this greet time

Room Tip: Take on the second floor so you are just close the terrace ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

This riad is really cozy! So much so that on my 2nd and final night I decided to stay in instead of joining the action outside. The rooms are tastefully furnished, clean, and most important - warm! It started to get cold when I was there. Laure, the owner, and the two other ladies who work here are really friendly and will help make your stay as comfortable as possible - offering extra blankets, a radiator, great food.... Also, I'd arranged a camel ride before I got to Morocco, not realizing that it was overpriced. Hasna referred me to one of their contacts who does camel excursions at a much cheaper price and it turned out to be the highlight of my Morocco adventure. I loved Essaouira and I loved this riad!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

The renovations in the riad are beautiful, the room we stayed in was bright and clean and the bathroom and showere were wonderful

Good things
--Laure--she welcomed us and gave us a selection of rooms to select from as it was the slow period before christmas and gave us information about the town.
--The rooms are beautifully decorated and very comfortable
--Location--the riad is so easy to find and on a quiet side street.
--Great Wifi

Neutral--breakfast was ok...the coffee was weak and not great tasting.

Bad
--the service was mixed; when Laure was there it was fine, Laure asked if I wanted to have the mats for the chairs, but it was late in the afternoon and the sun was about to go down. I thought taking the mats out this should have been a daily activity if the sun was shining and it if was warm, which was every day we were in Essuaria.
--The rooms/riad was musty. On the sunny days the windows should be opened on the terrace to let in the fresh, warm air.
--breakfast should be served on the terrace if the sun is shinning and it is warm. I asked if it would be possible to have breakfast on the terrace and was told no without any explanation so I was too scared to ask again.

It seemed as if no one was ever at the Riad. When Laure was at the Riad, we were greeted upon return, but other than that it seemed as if the Riad was abanded.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Zelaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Zelaka

Address: 9 Rue Zelaka, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 77 Hotels in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Riad Zelaka 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Venere, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld and Tingo so you can book your Riad Zelaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Zelaka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.