We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for relax and visit Esaaouira” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Zelaka

Save Saved
You added Riad Zelaka to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Riad Zelaka
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9 Rue Zelaka, Essaouira 44000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 78 hotels in Essaouira
Rennes, France
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great place for relax and visit Esaaouira”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

We were in the RIAD for a week early May. It was a nice stay and we keep in memory all the kindness of the morocco people in our heart.
The Riad is quiet with average and large rooms. Breakfast from Hasna and Amina were fantastic !
During our vacation we met people from different country and with the help of Hasna visit places in Essaouira and have fun !
Thank's a lot for this greet time

Room Tip: Take on the second floor so you are just close the terrace ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    38
    15
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
7
31
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

This riad is really cozy! So much so that on my 2nd and final night I decided to stay in instead of joining the action outside. The rooms are tastefully furnished, clean, and most important - warm! It started to get cold when I was there. Laure, the owner, and the two other ladies who work here are really friendly and will help make your stay as comfortable as possible - offering extra blankets, a radiator, great food.... Also, I'd arranged a camel ride before I got to Morocco, not realizing that it was overpriced. Hasna referred me to one of their contacts who does camel excursions at a much cheaper price and it turned out to be the highlight of my Morocco adventure. I loved Essaouira and I loved this riad!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

The renovations in the riad are beautiful, the room we stayed in was bright and clean and the bathroom and showere were wonderful

Good things
--Laure--she welcomed us and gave us a selection of rooms to select from as it was the slow period before christmas and gave us information about the town.
--The rooms are beautifully decorated and very comfortable
--Location--the riad is so easy to find and on a quiet side street.
--Great Wifi

Neutral--breakfast was ok...the coffee was weak and not great tasting.

Bad
--the service was mixed; when Laure was there it was fine, Laure asked if I wanted to have the mats for the chairs, but it was late in the afternoon and the sun was about to go down. I thought taking the mats out this should have been a daily activity if the sun was shining and it if was warm, which was every day we were in Essuaria.
--The rooms/riad was musty. On the sunny days the windows should be opened on the terrace to let in the fresh, warm air.
--breakfast should be served on the terrace if the sun is shinning and it is warm. I asked if it would be possible to have breakfast on the terrace and was told no without any explanation so I was too scared to ask again.

It seemed as if no one was ever at the Riad. When Laure was at the Riad, we were greeted upon return, but other than that it seemed as if the Riad was abanded.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

We stayed here in Mid-September and initially booked for one night only but kept extending and extending every day because we loved Essaouira and we loved the Riad and the people running it. Really can't recommend it enough. Room was great, loved the bathroom and the hot shower felt fantastic after a few weeks travelling round Morocco and showering under cold drizzle!

Matt & Linnea

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lymington, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

I stayed here for 11 nights from the 29th of October 2012. I had a beautiful room, delicious breakfasts every day plus a couple of really incredible tradiitional Moroccan dinners cooked by Hasna. Stephane is the ultimate host and wants all his guests to fully enjoy the delights of Essaouira, Nothing was too much trouble for the team at Riad Zelaka and as a lone traveller this was a fabulous place to stay. I felt at home, relaxed and happy.

Room Tip: I had room 4 - lots of windows so lovely and light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Owner is Stephane, great guy from Nantes, France. We stayed two nights in his Riad which is quite new (after renovation), I think. And we felt there like at home. Good price for, nice rooms, good breakfast, wi-fi connection, is possible to use hotel computer for free... Stephane gave us a lot of information about Morocco, Essauira and people who live there. Ask him for advice where to go for a diiner and he will show you chaep but great local restaurant. Before you will go to sleep ask Stephane for a bottle of wine. He always has few bottles of great local wine :) If we go there again, we will definitely stay in Riad Zelaka again. Thank you Stephane.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

This place is great, nice and big rooms, the owner is from France and really friendly. We really enjoyed our stay there. The breakfast is really good, the price is quite low for such a nice place. We can really recommend it. Thanks for the nice time!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Zelaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Zelaka

Address: 9 Rue Zelaka, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 78 hotels in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Riad Zelaka 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo and Venere so you can book your Riad Zelaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Zelaka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.