We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Zelaka

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Zelaka to your Saves list
Riad Zelaka
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9 Rue Zelaka, Essaouira 44000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 76 Hotels in Essaouira
Certificate of Excellence
Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

This place is great, nice and big rooms, the owner is from France and really friendly. We really enjoyed our stay there. The breakfast is really good, the price is quite low for such a nice place. We can really recommend it. Thanks for the nice time!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    20
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
11
39
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012 via mobile

i like this place i slept here 2 nights and tew owner stephane is a honest and friendly manager. it is a new nice guesthouse in thw center of medina. i am sure to back here if i come back again to essaouira. reccomended.
thanks stephen.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

We spent 10 days in Morocco, Essaouira was the last point of our trip and we were lucky to choose this very nice ryad! Comparing to our previous hotels in medina, Zelaka is very easy to find. Stephane met us like his friends. The amtosphere was very pleasant and all accomodations done with a lot of care. The second day we were invited to a dinner, organised for all the guests with traditional cuisine and we passed a very nice time, sharing our experience with the other guests and the owner. Everybody in the riad was very attentive and helpful in each situation. If you go to Essaouira, I can recommend to choose this place to enjoy this beatiful oriental city and to feel european comfort!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012 via mobile

Riad just inside the medina, but in a quiet part, near one of the gates. The riad is very light inside, has nice rooms and has a terrace on the roof. The breakfast is good with fresh juice. I would recommend this riad to friends!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

I stayed here for three nights with my boyfriend. As soon as we entered we were taken care of and nothing was too much trouble. Stephan even walked us to some local restaurants (which were lovely) to show us where we could go for lunch as we were starving. The riad is beautiful and our room was lovely. The riad is very clean and the breakfast is delicious. We left very early and they provided us with a breakfast to take with us which was very kind of them.

I would definitely recommend this riad and would go back to stay there!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
riadzelaka, Propriétaire at Riad Zelaka, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Merci Liz ,

see you soon ... inch'allah

Stephane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

I had the best time ever at Riad Zelaka. From the moment you enter, you feel the positive energy all over the place. A beautiful, cozy, warm place, very close from everything. Rooms are all so beautiful and clean that it's hard to choose which one to take. Laure and Hasna, the riad team, are extremely friendly, helpful and always smiling. The riad has also a breathtaking terrasse where you can enjoy your meals. If you want to enjoy Essaouira, go nowhere else but Riad Zelaka!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

My girlfriend and I found Riad Zelaka through tripadvisor and chose to stay there because it looked great and had wonderful reviews. As soon as we arrived we knew we had made the right decision.

The Riad was easily found - it was a short walk from from the enterance to Essaouira's Medina (very near to the supratours bus station if you are travelling from Marrakech). Our bus from marrakech was delayed so we arrived in Essaouira later than expected and were worried that we would not find a place to eat so late. Laure (our hostess) arranged for a local restaurant to stay open for us and so we were able to settle into our room before heading off to have a lovely dinner.

Our room was really lovely. There were traditional Moroccan elements combined with a modern simplicity that made the room feel warm and welcoming. The bed was comfortable and large there was loads of storage space for clothing and the bathroom was gorgeously decorated (we loved the brass sink and the walk in shower)!

The Riad itself is beautiful. We ate our delicious breakfasts in the court yard surrounded by plants with sun streaming through from the terrace. The terrace is the perfect place to relax and catch some sun on the loungers as it is sheltered from the wind. The Riad's pets - Snoop the dog and Mimoun the cat - were adorable!

We were looked after so well by Laure and Hisham. They gave us great advice on where to go in Essaouira and what to do! Hisham dropped us off and collected us from the restaurant on the first night when we did not know our way around. This was much appreciated because it was very late and the twisting side roads of Essaouira would have had us lost for sure. On one of the days we stayed, Laure took us to one of her favourite places to eat which was off the tourist trail where we enjoyed traditional Moroccan family cooking.

On our final day in Essaouira we went on a camel excursion on the beach. We felt like we had been over charged. Upon hearing this Laure phoned up the company organising the excursions and organised a refund for us. This was typical of the way in which Laure went out of her way to ensure we had the perfect stay (which we did!).

Despite us not speaking French or Arabic very well we found it easy and enjoyable to communicate with Laure and Hisham who were very patient with us. It also was a great way of getting to know the language better. We thought the language barrier would have been a problem but we cannot express strongly enough how this was not the case!

We really enjoyed our stay in Essaouira. The Medina was beautiful, the Souk was exciting and the beach and port were stunning!

We can't wait to come back to Essaouira and we will definitely be staying in Riad Zelaka again as we couldn't have hoped for anything more from the Riad and its hostess!

Laure, Merci beaucoup pour notre séjour fantastique!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Riad Zelaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Zelaka

Address: 9 Rue Zelaka, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 76 Hotels in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Riad Zelaka 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Riad Zelaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Zelaka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.