We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing and a very good energy!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Amana

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Amana to your Saves list
Riad Amana
2.5 of 5 Guest house   |   14. Rue Khader Ghailane, Essaouira 44000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #68 of 171 Essaouira B&B and Inns
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Relaxing and a very good energy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2010

We arrive to Essaouira at 22.00 PM.
A few moments after we entered through one of the medina's doors where everything changed and the frenetic movement of the little streets started.

To find the Riad was a little hard but because we forgot to put it on the map. In the middle of this movement of people, smells and sounds we found the riad right in the middle of the medina and in the cross of the two main streets.

A very nice woman (the owner) has open us the door and after all the fantastic days in Marrakech at last we could recover strenghs and relax a little bit.

The riad is very nice, very quiet, located close to everything but at the same time in a very quiet little street. As most of the Riads is organized around an interior courtyard (living room) where the different rooms have by its color and theme, a name, i recommentd the room "Paprika" (red Spice). At the top we have a great terrace where we can look the stars at night with no light interference.

We left Essaouira one week ago but we already miss the good mood and help for all of Cristine (the owner) and the great breakfasts and laughs of Fhatyma.

We bought a very beautiful Tajine and we made also good friends there.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    21
    7
    0
    2
See reviews for
14
33
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Veendam, The Netherlands
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2010

It was our plan to only stay one night in Riad Amana, but we really loved the Riad and Essaouira so we decided to stay two nights longer. We felt welcome and at home immediately. The riad and rooms look very well decorated, but most of all the rooms are very clean. This is something other riads sometimes lack. The owner did a great job designing and decorating the rooms. The woman taking care of the riad (cleaning the rooms, doing the shopping, etc) does her best in making the guests enjoy their stay. Although she doesn’t speak English very well, she tries. During our 3 week holiday in Morocco this riad was by far the best accomodation we stayed in. Very recommended!
Very good quality for money.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2010

The staff was wonderful, the bedrooms and bathrooms were immaculate as was the service. I would return in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2010

Great place to stay - wonderful staff. Location is also very good. Bathrooms and rooms were clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2010

Wonderful Riad in a quiet back street location perfect for shopping in the medina. Staff went out of their way to be helpful and friendly. Room was clean and comfortable with lovely cushions and throws on the beds.
Liked that the Riad was very close to some good restaurants and we were only five minutes walk away from the fishing harbour and the beach.
The lane below our windows was a bit noisy at times but did not interfere with our sleep at all.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Amana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Amana

Address: 14. Rue Khader Ghailane, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 171 B&Bs / Inns in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Riad Amana 2.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Riad Amana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Amana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.