We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Triskala Cafe

Triskala Cafe
Rue Touahen | Medina- tout pres de Sqala, Essaouira, Morocco
+212 6 55 58 51 31
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 196 restaurants in Essaouira
Price range: $5 - $11
Cuisines: Vegetarian, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Vienna, Austria
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Awesome Visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Eclectic, creative, fresh food and juice choices. Cozy, warm atmosphere, and to top it all, Marga, the spanish staff member, welcoming, professional and fun. Already looking forward to next visit. Absolutely recommend.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

91% Recommend
    216
    50
    16
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Quirky, great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

This was recommended by a friend. Our first meal there they had a total power blackout in the city but the staff kept smiling and just lit candles for each table. The chef did a wonderful job. just wish there were more choices.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Subic Bay Freeport Zone, Philippines
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Less is More”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

I did not read about this cafe through TripAdvisor but I accidentally stumbled upon Triskala when I was looking for my hostel in Essaouira. Like any other Moroccan restaurants, they have very nice ambiance, furnitures and interior. The difference is that it is really cozy and friendly. The staff speak English, French and Spanish so there's no problem in communicating. They have less food selection, hence, "less is more." I particularly like the Apple Crumble for desert. Their tables and walls are designed mostly by Jimi Hendrix's photos. It's Rolling Stones themed. Plus, the music of Pink Floyd playing on the background was also very nice! I wish they had wifi though so I can opt to stay there and work. It is also a non-smoking restaurant. Perfect for bringing your children.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Keep trying until you get in!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

It took three attempts to get in here - first night, they were so busy, they had run out of food by 9:30 pm (good for them, not for us), the second day, we went too early and they had finished lunch and hadn't started dinner (our fault) and finally, that night, we got in. It is definitely one of the quirkiest restaurants I have ever been in. You can clearly see the influence of its' hippy predecessors. Great first impression and the music ain't bad either. Waitress was v friendly and the food was fantastic. I am a vegetarian so had the falafel plate. Really good and presented beautifully and thankfully was neither a veggie tagine or a "7 legume cous cous! My gf had the swordfish. She also thought it was very tasty. Juices were good too. They also serve distilled water for free which was the only time I saw this in any restaurant we ate in over our stay. The desserts looked great but we did not sample them.

Highly recommend going here. You will not be disappointed.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

Favourite restaurant in Morocco to eat at, delicious & innovative menu. Quirky yet cosy environment. Highly recommend visiting this place over any other on Essouria :)

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Triskala Cafe also viewed

Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Triskala Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Triskala Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.