We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Keep trying until you get in!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Triskala Cafe

Triskala Cafe
Rue Touahen | Medina- tout pres de Sqala, Essaouira, Morocco
+212 655-585131
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 198 Restaurants in Essaouira
Price range: $5 - $11
Cuisines: Vegetarian, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Keep trying until you get in!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

It took three attempts to get in here - first night, they were so busy, they had run out of food by 9:30 pm (good for them, not for us), the second day, we went too early and they had finished lunch and hadn't started dinner (our fault) and finally, that night, we got in. It is definitely one of the quirkiest restaurants I have ever been in. You can clearly see the influence of its' hippy predecessors. Great first impression and the music ain't bad either. Waitress was v friendly and the food was fantastic. I am a vegetarian so had the falafel plate. Really good and presented beautifully and thankfully was neither a veggie tagine or a "7 legume cous cous! My gf had the swordfish. She also thought it was very tasty. Juices were good too. They also serve distilled water for free which was the only time I saw this in any restaurant we ate in over our stay. The desserts looked great but we did not sample them.

Highly recommend going here. You will not be disappointed.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    239
    59
    17
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

Favourite restaurant in Morocco to eat at, delicious & innovative menu. Quirky yet cosy environment. Highly recommend visiting this place over any other on Essouria :)

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innsbruck, Austria
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“... original, quirky, oh-so-unique ;D ...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Mmmmhhh... why did I not allocate '5 stars' for excellent ?
1. - it wouldn't do it justice because this quirky Cafe is individualistic ... calls for a different
appraisal system ;)
2. - it is Vegetarian only - no criticism !!! Absolutely great food - I just love fish and meat too :)

BUT - having said that - thanks to Marguerita, the equally 'quirky', bubbly, infectiously vibrant owner of this Bohemian Cafe we got to know Sidi Kaouki and finally reconciled with Essaouira.
The moment we stepped into this Cafe it 'cast a spell' on us ... loved every 'wacky' detail and honestly enjoyed our meal ... we couldn't quite make up our mind what to eat, so we decided to 'sample our way through the menu' ... the vegetarian falafel - just yummie !!!! MMMMhhhh ...
Check out the pics and see for yourself ... the place to go when you're in Essaouira - it's a MUST you will NOT regret !!! :))

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Small cozy restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

We read about this place on tripadvisor and it didn't disappoint. We ate there twice in total because the food was great, it was cheap and it was totally different than what we were used to.
The restaurant itself is very small with low tables and cushions on the ground, the atmospheer is great and very relaxing. Everyday there is a different menu and the owner will come by your table and will try to explain the menu because she can't speak English but with a basic knowledge of French or Spanish it is easy to understand.

The food is very good and it is very origional, it is a fusion of Maroccan, French and Spanish I think and you are stuffed when you walk out of the place. The starters are 25 MAD and the main courses are 50 MAD, they only have fresh juices to drink and they cost 18 MAD each.

I would definitely recommend this place, it was one of the better restaurants we ate at in Marocco.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“cosy, healthy, original, coloured.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

Quite easy to find (with a gps), Triskala has been a nice surprise. Healthy vegetarian choices well cooked, well presented, well mixed. Fresh fruits and tasty veggies. Desserts to order in advance.
This spot is already "hot", so might be already busy at 8pm. If you can wait...

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Triskala Cafe also viewed

Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Triskala Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Triskala Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.