We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky, friendly, great food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Triskala Cafe

Triskala Cafe
Rue Touahen | Medina- tout pres de Sqala, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
+212 655-585131
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 200 Restaurants in Essaouira
Price range: $6 - $11
Cuisines: Vegetarian, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Restaurant is open every evening from 18h30, except sunday Vegetarian and fish menus. Triskala Cafe is sustainable, using only local food,fresh drinks (no soda or plastic bottles), we use biodegradable soaps to clean dishes and floors...
Porthcawl, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Quirky, friendly, great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We liked Triskala so much that we visited twice during our week-long visit to Essaouria. The hand-written menu is small, but included fresh fish, freshly squeezed juices, delicious home-made desserts (order these when you order your main course, or risk them running out!), and vegetarian dishes, all of which were tasty and inexpensive. The service is friendly, and the restaurant relaxed and cosy, with unusual decor and layout. I'd recommend going early - both times we went they were full by about 8pm and had to turn away customers.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    244
    59
    17
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Eclectic, cozy cafe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

We wandered into Triskala pretty late, just before the kitchen was closing down. However, the owner didn't hesitate to seat us. We had a starter of the most delicious bread (Still trying to figure out what was in it) and some very refreshing tomato salads. For my main, I had grilled fish and my boyfriend had the shrimp gratin. Both were super yummy. We had basically just arrived in Essaouira that evening, and after a hectic day of travel, Triskala was the perfect place to relax and enjoy a restorative meal. Probably the best place to eat in Essaouira. Oh, and the prices were very reasonable too.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
265 reviews 265 reviews
155 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
399 helpful votes 399 helpful votes
“Exceptionally tasty”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

This is one of our favourites. Quirky, inviting, SUSTAINABLE.
The food is yummy, well balanced and beautifully presented. The staff is very attending and the décor is very impressive, comfy and welcoming.
Hats off for the home made bread!!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Top Contributor
295 reviews 295 reviews
206 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 116 cities Reviews in 116 cities
510 helpful votes 510 helpful votes
“Quirky and interesting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Finding Triskala can be tricky as Google maps isn't up to the complexities of all the little side streets in Essaouira. The cafe is a quirky little place with very eclectic decor and a 60s hippyish feel. The menu is vegetarian with some fish dishes and the prices are almost ridiculously cheap: 25 dirham for a starter, 50 for a main course and 25 for a dessert. There's no liquor license, so it's BYO or stick to the supplied filtered water. Service is friendly but a little haphazard. The easiest way of paying the bill seemed to be to go up to the counter rather than requesting 'l'addition'. The weakest dish of those we ordered was the tabbouleh which was extremely bland; in contrast, the goats cheese salad was much better and also included some little pots of hummus and green olive tapenade. Couscous with vegetables and dried fruits was more successful but more variation in veg would have been better. A meze plate with falafel was interesting and tasty. The accompanying bread with sultanas and nuts was excellent. A shared slice of richly dark chocolate cake was delicious.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Tasty Veggie and fish dishes”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

This is a lovely little café the décor is great, food is tasty. We had a variety of dishes and everyone enjoyed them. The chocolate cake was amazing, the crapes where Moroccan pancakes not French but they are very tasty and would recommend people trying them as they are like flat crumpets. The only thing was the water was filtered not bottled. All in all for the price it was worth a visit and it appears to be popular as it was really very busy. In short would go again but would bring my own water.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Triskala Cafe also viewed

Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Triskala Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Triskala Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.