We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky and interesting” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Triskala Cafe

Triskala Cafe
Rue Touahen | Medina- tout pres de Sqala, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
+212 655-585131
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 199 Restaurants in Essaouira
Price range: $6 - $11
Cuisines: Vegetarian, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Restaurant is open every evening from 18h30, except sunday Vegetarian and fish menus. Triskala Cafe is sustainable, using only local food,fresh drinks (no soda or plastic bottles), we use biodegradable soaps to clean dishes and floors...
London, UK
Top Contributor
295 reviews 295 reviews
206 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 116 cities Reviews in 116 cities
510 helpful votes 510 helpful votes
“Quirky and interesting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Finding Triskala can be tricky as Google maps isn't up to the complexities of all the little side streets in Essaouira. The cafe is a quirky little place with very eclectic decor and a 60s hippyish feel. The menu is vegetarian with some fish dishes and the prices are almost ridiculously cheap: 25 dirham for a starter, 50 for a main course and 25 for a dessert. There's no liquor license, so it's BYO or stick to the supplied filtered water. Service is friendly but a little haphazard. The easiest way of paying the bill seemed to be to go up to the counter rather than requesting 'l'addition'. The weakest dish of those we ordered was the tabbouleh which was extremely bland; in contrast, the goats cheese salad was much better and also included some little pots of hummus and green olive tapenade. Couscous with vegetables and dried fruits was more successful but more variation in veg would have been better. A meze plate with falafel was interesting and tasty. The accompanying bread with sultanas and nuts was excellent. A shared slice of richly dark chocolate cake was delicious.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    242
    59
    17
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kent
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Tasty Veggie and fish dishes”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

This is a lovely little café the décor is great, food is tasty. We had a variety of dishes and everyone enjoyed them. The chocolate cake was amazing, the crapes where Moroccan pancakes not French but they are very tasty and would recommend people trying them as they are like flat crumpets. The only thing was the water was filtered not bottled. All in all for the price it was worth a visit and it appears to be popular as it was really very busy. In short would go again but would bring my own water.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krakow
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great dinner & relaxing atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We really enjoyed nice decor and relaxing atmoshere at Triskala as well as very friendly staff (fluent in French and English). Menu was simple but original (not only couscous and tajin like at many other restaurants). Service was efficient ad helpful — we tried starters (salad with goat cheese) and main: falafels and sardin fishballs. It was very tasty and well cooked - and comparing to other restaurants - cheap. As a dessert we had chocolate fondant, strongly recommended and worth trying! BTW - if yu want to have a glass o wine bring your own bottle as they don't serve alcohol in there

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Looks great but food was terrible!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

We arrived to a very nice greating and were initailly impressed with the decor and atmosphere however this changed when we received our food we had a prawn gratin that had shrimps in that certainly weren't fresh and the rest of the dish contained overcooked pasta that had collapsed and melted cheese slices that were being passed of as behcamel sauce there was also a complete absance of breadcrumbs ! The ocean tagine also only contained sardine meatballs which seemed strange as essaouria has an abundance of fresh fish ! We stayed in essaouria for a week and trust me there are far better places for food in town! We also made our grevences known however the staff just smiled and gave us our bill ! Overall to much focus on art house style and little focus on cuisine !

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Best in Town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Incredibly relaxed, brilliant food, excellent service. Best restuarant we tried in Essaouira (out of approx 10 we visited).

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Triskala Cafe also viewed

Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Triskala Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Triskala Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.