We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Riad with Fabulous Breakfasts” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Malaika

Save Saved
You added Riad Malaika to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Riad Malaika
17 rue Zayane, Essaouira 44100, Morocco   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 78 hotels in Essaouira
San Francisco
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Lovely Riad with Fabulous Breakfasts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

This lovely riad is in the heart of Essaouira but on a quiet narrow street away from noise. We heard the ocean from our room. Room was decorated very nicely and had a small sitting area with two chairs. I believe we booked a "superior" rather than standard room. It was quiet but we could easily hear people in the hall. The breakfasts were fabulous with a different egg dish for the three nights we stayed: one was savory cooked vegetables with crumbled hard boiled egg and another was a tomato egg dish. Fresh orange juice, pan cakes, bread, maybe fruit were also served. The staff was great.

Room Tip: we requested the third floor based on other reviews here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

566 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    460
    86
    15
    2
    3
See reviews for
86
305
30
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sykia, Greece
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

We stay in Riad Malaika and we like it very much.All they are very friendly and so good energe people,they cooked for as one night and the food was exelent....we hope to go again....Thank you
very much for all......

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

The French owners of this riad have an eye for design and have chosen gracious, talented staff to help then run it. We found our room a knockout beauty. Especially liked the black, polished concrete bathroom with traditional fittings. Textiles, antiques and a rose by each side of the bed completed the total look. The soaps, shower gel and shampoo are made especially for them--no detail left undone here. The roof terrace is a lovely place to read a book and watch the light change.
Step through the door and you are welcomed by a pool, fountain, gracious staff and in the evening a wood fire. We stayed at the end of October-- evenings were cool. The night we dined there (order the previous day) there was a power outage, which only added to the charm. A fire was lit in the fireplace and candles were placed everywhere. Very romantic. Breakfasts are extraordinary and changing.
I am tempted to keep this place a secret--it is that good. But that would be selfish.
The junior suite on the roof is lovely too. If you are traveling with kids, it's ideal.

Room Tip: Every room, on every floor is beautiful. It is on a quiet pedestrian street, away from the main bust...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

We stayed in September in this Riad. The breakfast was very good, thanks to the Moroccan personnel. In comparison to 4 other riads where we stayed, the French owners here weren't as friendly and welcoming, but it was okay. Maybe due to the fact that they have quite a lot of rooms for a Riad. This makes the rooms not that big, but still they are very elegantly equipped. The roof terrace is a real plus for this place. Furthermore the location of the Riad is ideal and Essaouira is a nice place to spend 1 or 2 days.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

This riad is absolutely delightful. I cannot understand why the reviewers below have not given 5 stars.

The riad is spotless and beautifully presented. You find it off a tiny dingy side street behind an oak door. The door opens to reveal a gorgeous cosy set up - pool and fountain, open log fire, cream antique furniture. Just beautiful.

The staff were lovely. Excellent dinner recommendations, shopping tips and local knowledge.

We stayed in the junior suite which was beautifully decorated - not at all noisy! - and spotless.

Breakfast was one of the best we had during our time in Morroco - massive, varied and tasty. The prepared us breakfast at 5pm when we had an early departure to make and even carried our bags to the bus terminla for us.

We had beers in the lounge area after a busy day's shopping - listening to laid back jazz with a roaring fire - just lovely.

Dont hesitate to book this fabulous riad!

Room Tip: Junior suite is excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memmingen, Bayern, Germany
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

We stumbled upon an excellent, well presented, gem of a Riad hidden away in the Essaouira medina. They were unfortunately full on this night and directed us to a similar Riad, but promised us a room for our 2nd night in Essauoira. On returning the next day they offered us a whole house across the small lane for ourselves (2 people) for the same price as a room... which was fantastic. We felt very well handled and can only highly recommend their hospitality, breakfast and quality of accomodation. Great value for money.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

We had a fine 2 night stay here. Staff were attentive and friendly. The room was nice enough, though it was very noisy. We could easily hear every noise as it was amplified upward from the main floor and kitchen, so sleeping was quite noisy. As mentioned in other reviews, the cleanliness of the room, breakfast area and terrace left something to be desired (visibly dirty bedsheet, dead bug on knife). All in all, we enjoyed our stay, though more attention to cleanliness and noise level would be helpful.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Malaika? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Malaika

Address: 17 rue Zayane, Essaouira 44100, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Essaouira
#10 Family Hotel in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AUTANTIC RIAD XVIII IN ESSAOUIRA-MORROCO, QUIET IN THE HEART OF THE MEDINA ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Riad Malaika reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Malaika Hotel Essaouira

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Malaika, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.