We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A superb choice of Riad” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Malaika

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Malaika to your Saves list
Riad Malaika
17 rue Zayane, Essaouira 44100, Morocco   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #8 of 77 Hotels in Essaouira
Robertsbridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A superb choice of Riad”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

This really is a gem of a place to stay! Central to the old and most interesting part of Essaouira although in a quiet street and near to the port, beaches and great restaurants and cafes nearby to suit all budgets. The owners and staff are so friendly, nothing too much trouble. The decor is true Moroccan at its best and the personal touches to the smallest detail in the rooms such as the quality soap, roses, joss sticks, quality artefacts and books on Moroccan art, daily bottles of water with glasses, add to the ambience and comfort. The varied breakfasts are excellent and can be eaten in the comfortable lounge/eating area or on the roof terrace. There was a log fire while we were there which gave a comfortable lounge area to relax in the cooler evenings. This beautiful Riad offers so much for the amount they charge - we definitely recommend it and feel lucky to have chosen it (with the help of previous trip advisor reviewers).

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

600 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    491
    89
    15
    2
    3
See reviews for
91
322
32
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013 via mobile

We were really disappointed by this riad - particularly compared to the other places we stayed in morocco for the same price:

- rooms are dirty (to the extent that we put t-shirts over the pillows to avoid putting our faces directly on the pillowcases and luckily I'd brought my own towel).

- we were given one small roll of toilet paper the day we first arrived and that was it - we had to keep asking daily for a fresh roll...same with the water - we were only given one small bottle each the day we first arrived in our room and that was it.

- the breakfast was terrible. There was a measly selection and the quality poor. We ended up buying breakfast straight after leaving the hotel in the mornings.

- the pillows need replacing.

- it's overpriced as a riad and we really wish that we'd stayed somewhere else on essaouria.

- the French couple who own it are really grumpy - saved only by their very polite and attentive Moroccan staff.

The only positives are that it has a very nice looking entrance hall, the wifi connection is food and the location is central in the medina but quiet for sleeping.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed just one night, but would have loved another night in Essaouira and this Riad - it was such a nice break from larger Moroccan cities and the Riad lovely, with service way beyond what we paid. It is down a quiet street very close to a food plaza and many shops. The Riad is lovely with a nice main floor for sitting around, and a terrace (which we didn't have time to enjoy!). Our room was on the second floor, but very quiet and cute (nothing fancy, no tv, but decorated warmly and very clean, the bathroom the same). The hotel met us at the Supratours bus stop, which was nice to get off the bus then be met and led to the Riad. Both owners we met the short time we were there, and they were really friendly (along with the rest of the staff). Breakfast was very peaceful, served on the ground floor with nice Moroccan pastries, juice, coffee, and an egg. Agree with the other reviews - this is a great place to stay, again, for the price a real treat!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I spent 1 night in this beautiful riad with my friends. I don't think I ever stayed in such an authentic hotel.Because of the time of the year, February is not the busiest time, we managed to get some discount on our room.
The hotel manager gave us great advises about where to go to eat, where to shop local souvenirs.
I can only recommend it!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Just returned from a week's holiday in Essaouira. We stayed at Riad Malaika and we could not have been happier. The riad was beautiful and the staff could not have been more helpful.It is really easy to walk everywhere from here-around the medina, to the beach etc. We had breakfast every morning on the beautiful sunny roof terrace and it filled us up for most of the day. We stayed in the lovely suite with our 4 year old son. Would highly recommend. Thank you to Sylvie, Piermark, Abdullah and the rest of the staff.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 2 nights in February 2013, arriving in a hire car direct from Marrakesh airport (about 3 hours) - the riad is very well located away from the hustle of the main retail areas, but just a few minutes walk to everything including the large square between the medina and the port. We had the 'suite' on the top floor, which was excellent, and enjoyed the adjacent roof terrace (available to all guests). The owners, who took it in turns 'mind the shop' are both lovely helpful people - with good English. Would highly recommend this if you are staying in Essauoria. And Essauoria was probably our favourite place that we visited during our week in Morocco, I'd want to stay longer than 2 nights on another occasion.

NB, parking was easy, just outside the medina (we were directed to park on the pavement, I think the cost was about 5DIR per day) - a porter was instantly on hand with a trolley for our luggage, and led us on the 10 minute walk to the riad; the riad have their own also, which we used on departure.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

Definitely a good place to stay. Lovely staff, comfy room, perfect location, right in the medina and 5-10 mins from the port. Staff gave extremely helpful recommendations for our short stay.

Would highly recommend for a stay in Essaouira.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Malaika? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Malaika

Address: 17 rue Zayane, Essaouira 44100, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Essaouira
#10 Family Hotel in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AUTANTIC RIAD XVIII IN ESSAOUIRA-MORROCO, QUIET IN THE HEART OF THE MEDINA ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Malaika reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Malaika Hotel Essaouira

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Malaika, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.