We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great friendly place to stay.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Malaika

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Malaika to your Saves list
Riad Malaika
17 rue Zayane, Essaouira 44100, Morocco   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #8 of 77 Hotels in Essaouira
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great friendly place to stay.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We stayed a few days in Riad Malaika in December of 2012. The staff were all so welcoming. The owners were there as well and made a point of welcoming us to their riad. On New Years Eve they threw a small soiree for the guests and some of the friends of the staff. The food laid out was excellent. On a more routine note, the breakfasts were plentiful and varied from day to day. The rooms and entire riad were well kept, clean and above all beautifully decorated. We stayed in three riads during our trip to Morocco and Malaika was by far the best.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

595 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    486
    89
    15
    2
    3
See reviews for
91
321
32
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire,England
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

This is a great place to stay, both the town and the Riad. All the rooms are slightly different and very typical boutique riad in style. Warm in 'winter' and I would love to return in the summer to see the contrast. The common area had an open fire at night which was excellent when returning from a walk within the narrow streets. Breakfast was prompt and very filling and different each morning for the three nights we stayed. There is an excellent restaurant called Ferramous or something similar down the end of the alley. Ask the riad owner they will tell you it is marvellous and unpretentious

Room Tip: All the rooms looked great
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Fantastic Riad in a lovely town. Room was very nice, the only negatives were that some of the fittings were broken (light bulbs and toilet roll holder), but not enough to deter from a lovely stay. Excellent breakfast and exceptional staff.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We stayed at Riad Malaika for two nights at the beginning fo January.

It is a vey nice riad -- with an excellent Moroccan staff, very helpful, kind and smiling. The atmosphere is warm and welcoming, nevertheless very discrete. It is owned by a highly-professional French couple, nevertheless it gives the feeling to be in a typical Moroccan riad, with all commodities.

The rooms are nice and clean. Ours (n.5) was at first floor, very silent and the brighter we have experienced in our Moroccan stay. At night you could close the baffles, and enjoy a nice sleep.

Breakfast is varied and very tasty. Prices are fair, and no extra-fee is asked if paying with a credit card. WiFi is okay in the chilling lounge area, with lovely lights and even a chimney.

I highly recommend Riad Malaika, and I would definitely come back here if I travelled again to Essaouira!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Disclosure: This review is simply regarding the customer service we received from the hotel during the booking -- and more specifically -- the cancellation process.

We booked the Riad Malaika during our trip planning to Morocco and were excited to visit based on the quality of many of the other reviews we read. Unfortunately, we had to cancel the entire trip at the last minute. We'd made reservations through booking.com and had to cancel after the free cancellation period had expired. When I contacted the hotel, they were sympathetic to our misfortune and allowed us to pay only a percentage of what we otherwise would have had to pay. It was beyond what they legally had to do, so we very much appreciated that gesture amidst our disappointment at a foiled trip.

We plan to visit Riad Malaika when we're able to reschedule our trip to Morocco.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We have rarely felt so welcome and attended to. Our rooftop suite was beautiful and provided a peaceful base from which to explore the seaside town. We did not receive better service in any other riad throughout our holiday in Morocco. What a great taste of moroccan luxury!

Room Tip: Our top floor suite opened on to the roof terrace and had room for 4.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

We stayed for a week in Dec & would love to stay here again. The staff really look after their guests and are generous with their time and local knowledge. We had a great room. Even when full it was really quiet. Lovely fire to come home to at night in the main sitting area. We stayed the full week and breakfasts change from day to day. Food can be ordered in at night if you want to stay in. We were lucky enough to go to a local hammam with some of the staff & recommend it if you want to experience something different.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Malaika? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Malaika

Address: 17 rue Zayane, Essaouira 44100, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Essaouira
#10 Family Hotel in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AUTANTIC RIAD XVIII IN ESSAOUIRA-MORROCO, QUIET IN THE HEART OF THE MEDINA ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Malaika reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Malaika Hotel Essaouira

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Malaika, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.