We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yorkshiremen get everywhere :)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Cantina

La Cantina
66 Rue Boutouil, Essaouira, Morocco
0524 474 515
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 218 Restaurants in Essaouira
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $7
Cuisines: Mexican, Moroccan, Cafe, British, Vegetarian, Tea Room
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Dessert, Coffee & Tea, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Description: La Cantina Essaouira is an English cafe serving delicious home-cooked English and international food, juices and smoothies. Popular dishes include jacket potatoes, chilli con carne, vegetarian curries and stir-fries and the best burgers in North Africa! For those with a sweet tooth, carrot cake, warm banana bread drizzled with honey and fresh scones with jam and cream are an absolute must.
Casablanca, Morocco
2 reviews
“Yorkshiremen get everywhere :)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I loved every bite at this place, a british safe haven away from the hustle of the medina. Fantastic burgers and the portions are incredible. Definately try the cheescake with a banana strawberry smoothie to wash it down. Perfect.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    150
    60
    7
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A great cup of tea!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

If you want a good bit of Northern hospitality and a great cuppa with a slice of cake or a scone with jam then La Cantina is the place for you. Although the idea of a Mexican/ British cafe seems a bit odd, it all worked perfectly well when we came across this place by chance during our recent trip to Essaouira. After several days of Moroccan mint tea it really was a welcome break to have a real pot of English tea served by Sharon from Sheffield! What more could you ask for?

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Filthy and they destroy our holiday!!!!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

The "Best burger" sign started our exsitiment.....we had the burger og a orange juice.... Halv a hour later we Got VERY sick...DONT GO THERE....

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn, Estonia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent idea for a change”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

They say they on the wall, they have been voted to have best burgers in Africa. As I have not had any burgers in any other African countries, i can say that the sign does not lie in my opinion. Burgers were good, but not excellent. Although the main attraction of this place is that the menu differs from all other eateries a lot. Burgers and Mexican dishes are a good to have for change, if getting tired of local dishes.

And the house cheesecake is awesome!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great food and a real cup of English tea!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

This is the second time we visited La Cantina. We first came here in 2008 and it is just as good second time around. A lovely range of mexican food on the menu, including a good veggie range, and if you're a Brit, arguably the best bit is a nice pot of ENGLISH tea! So good, I had to have a second!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Cantina also viewed

Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to La Cantina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Cantina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.