We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A dream in white and blue” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Sidi Magdoul

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Sidi Magdoul to your Saves list
Riad Sidi Magdoul
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   21 rue Sidi Abdesmih | 44100, Essaouira 44000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 77 Hotels in Essaouira
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A dream in white and blue”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

We stayed in this riad for several nights in between our trip around Marocco and liked it very much. The staff are very helpful. Rooms are nice and clean and if when there were several rooms available we could choose where to stay, so we tried 3 types of rooms. There are no airconditioners, but actually we did not need them as the air is pretty fresh. To get access to WiFi you need to come to the reception, but as we did not come to spend our time in Internet this was not a problem. We had an early departure and our request we got our breakfast packed and ready for the trip. Very good location and very good service, and the place is beatifully painted white and blue.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    74
    12
    9
    5
See reviews for
55
71
24
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

Good value for money and excellent location - right in the medina and close to the beach or bus station. Rooms are simple but clean and comfy, wi-fi is working very well and the staff is just amazing. They were very helpful and nothing we asked for was a problem for them.
Breakfast was very good and we appreciated the fact we could use the kitchen on evenings :)

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
188 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

We had three nights at this lovely Riad and found it extremely close to everything, right in the medina and well equipped.

Staff were very friendly and willing to help with any question or matter.

Breakfast was very nice and included in the price.

The rooms were clean and comfortable and the Riad itself was very nicely decorated.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innsbruck, Tirol, Austria
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

We found the hotel Sidi Magdoul, because it was mentioned in my travel book. And we were very happy with our choice! It's a nice little place with excellent price value directly in the medina!
All the people working here did a great job! When we asked for help with booking a grand taxi and immediatley they called a taxi driver who picked us up at the Riad the next day!
Also when we asked for a place for a cooking class we were sent to a restaurant where we could ask for a little introduction in making chicken pastilla!
The rooms are also quite big and the beds are comfortable! I would stay here again! They also have bigger rooms for 4-6 people so it could be also interesting to stay here for groups!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
122 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

It cost the same as the Riad in Marrakech but was half as nice!

The rooms were clean and bathroom was ok (clean but a bit dark, humid and the shower made the entire bathroom floor wet!). The entire Riad lacked character - unless old and dilapidated was its intention! The place needs a new painting and some love!

The breakfast was mediocre and the food not great. On the first day we were greeted by a grumpy and incredibly unhelpful staff member who fortunately was replaced by another person the next day. Perhaps the regular person was on holiday?

The wifi only worked downstairs and not in the rooms. The Riad is however centrally located.

I will however not return here!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

We hadn't looked at any riads arriving in Essaouira, and night had already fallen.
Sidi Magdoul immediately took us in for a nice price and hooked us up with a room on the top floor, next to the roof terrace. We basically chilled the whole morning sitting in the sun on the roof terrace, listening to some music, watching the birds fly and cats jump from roof to roof. Essaouira is a beautiful city, but the terrace is just awesome to chill out too.

We returned to Sidi Magdoul a week later the night before catching our flight. Again, a perfect experience.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

Easily found - 10 mins walk from the car parks near the port. Very central and quiet - down a dark passage, lovely! Excellent breakfast of eggs, bread, pancakes, etc. - good coffee. Good wifi downstairs. Comfy beds and all very clean. Good views from the roof. Well priced and made very welcome by the staff who did not try to overwhelm.

Room Tip: Our room for three (no 8) had 1 double and 2 single beds - all spread out nicely for privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Les Matins Bleus
Hotel Les Matins Bleus
#16 of 77 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 stars 401 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Etoile d'Essaouira
Riad Etoile d'Essaouira
#43 of 77 in Essaouira
4.0 of 5 stars 53 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Le Grand Large
Riad Le Grand Large
#41 of 77 in Essaouira
4.0 of 5 stars 157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Riad Zahra Mogador
Riad Zahra Mogador
#11 of 77 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 stars 511 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Al Zahia
Riad Al Zahia
#21 of 77 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 stars 247 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tweets Hotel
Tweets Hotel
#26 of 77 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 stars 99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Sidi Magdoul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Sidi Magdoul

Address: 21 rue Sidi Abdesmih | 44100, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 77 Hotels in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Riad Sidi Magdoul 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Riad Sidi Magdoul is located just a few steps from the picturesque port (parking with municipal attendant) and the vast beach of Essaouira, in the heart of the artistic and artisan neighbourhoods of the Medina, souks, restaurants, galleries, cafes. The Riad is made of ten rooms all with private bathroom, placed on three floors around a large ‘puits de jour’ – an open space in the center of the Riad from which the light pours in.A bright and sunny terrace offers a view on the roofs of the Medina.Wireless internet connection (WIFI) is freely available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Riad Sidi Magdoul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Sidi Magdoul, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.