We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely friendly and willing to help staff, nice rooms and great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Sidi Magdoul

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Sidi Magdoul to your Saves list
Riad Sidi Magdoul
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   21 rue Sidi Abdesmih | 44100, Essaouira 44000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 77 Hotels in Essaouira
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“Extremely friendly and willing to help staff, nice rooms and great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

We had three nights at this lovely Riad and found it extremely close to everything, right in the medina and well equipped.

Staff were very friendly and willing to help with any question or matter.

Breakfast was very nice and included in the price.

The rooms were clean and comfortable and the Riad itself was very nicely decorated.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    66
    10
    8
    4
See reviews for
50
59
21
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Innsbruck, Tirol, Austria
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

We found the hotel Sidi Magdoul, because it was mentioned in my travel book. And we were very happy with our choice! It's a nice little place with excellent price value directly in the medina!
All the people working here did a great job! When we asked for help with booking a grand taxi and immediatley they called a taxi driver who picked us up at the Riad the next day!
Also when we asked for a place for a cooking class we were sent to a restaurant where we could ask for a little introduction in making chicken pastilla!
The rooms are also quite big and the beds are comfortable! I would stay here again! They also have bigger rooms for 4-6 people so it could be also interesting to stay here for groups!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

It cost the same as the Riad in Marrakech but was half as nice!

The rooms were clean and bathroom was ok (clean but a bit dark, humid and the shower made the entire bathroom floor wet!). The entire Riad lacked character - unless old and dilapidated was its intention! The place needs a new painting and some love!

The breakfast was mediocre and the food not great. On the first day we were greeted by a grumpy and incredibly unhelpful staff member who fortunately was replaced by another person the next day. Perhaps the regular person was on holiday?

The wifi only worked downstairs and not in the rooms. The Riad is however centrally located.

I will however not return here!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

We hadn't looked at any riads arriving in Essaouira, and night had already fallen.
Sidi Magdoul immediately took us in for a nice price and hooked us up with a room on the top floor, next to the roof terrace. We basically chilled the whole morning sitting in the sun on the roof terrace, listening to some music, watching the birds fly and cats jump from roof to roof. Essaouira is a beautiful city, but the terrace is just awesome to chill out too.

We returned to Sidi Magdoul a week later the night before catching our flight. Again, a perfect experience.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

Easily found - 10 mins walk from the car parks near the port. Very central and quiet - down a dark passage, lovely! Excellent breakfast of eggs, bread, pancakes, etc. - good coffee. Good wifi downstairs. Comfy beds and all very clean. Good views from the roof. Well priced and made very welcome by the staff who did not try to overwhelm.

Room Tip: Our room for three (no 8) had 1 double and 2 single beds - all spread out nicely for privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turin, Italy
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

My experience with this riad was pretty good.
As usual they welcomed us with green tea with mint leaves, and then lead us to our big, clean room, taking our heaviest piece of luggage along the steep stairs.
We stayed on the first or second floor, I don'r remember, and unfortunately the free wi-fi network didn't work very much, but actually I don't care much about it.
Breakfast was good and varying.
Most important, the riad is in the center of the medina, between the two most lively avenues, but still silent and peaceful at night.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bordeaux, France
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

A quiet and spacious hotel nestled between the two large tourist streets in Essaouira, Sidi Magdoul is a secret gem. The rooms are large, comfortable, and clean, with a private bathroom attached. The breakfast is prepared hot for each new arrival, and the orange juice is freshly squeezed. For the price they ask, Sidi Magdoul is excellent - but it's the service that really takes them above and beyond. A friend got quite ill during our stay, but the hotel employees helped us with everything from carrying her down the stairs to offering toilet paper and blankets when the hospital had none. I will undoubtedly return to Sidi Magdoul, and I recommend it to anyone heading to Essaouira!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Sidi Magdoul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Sidi Magdoul

Address: 21 rue Sidi Abdesmih | 44100, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 77 Hotels in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Riad Sidi Magdoul 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Riad Sidi Magdoul is located just a few steps from the picturesque port (parking with municipal attendant) and the vast beach of Essaouira, in the heart of the artistic and artisan neighbourhoods of the Medina, souks, restaurants, galleries, cafes. The Riad is made of ten rooms all with private bathroom, placed on three floors around a large ‘puits de jour’ – an open space in the center of the Riad from which the light pours in.A bright and sunny terrace offers a view on the roofs of the Medina.Wireless internet connection (WIFI) is freely available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Venere, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Riad Sidi Magdoul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Sidi Magdoul, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.