We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Medina Gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Sidi Magdoul

Save Saved
You added Riad Sidi Magdoul to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Riad Sidi Magdoul
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   21 rue Sidi Abdesmih | 44100, Essaouira 44000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 78 hotels in Essaouira
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Medina Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Loved our 2 week stay at Riad Sidi Magdoul. Great and very friendly staff always willing to help. Very clean, comfortable and spacious room. Perfect location. An overall perfect experience. I would definitely return.

Room Tip: We had room #2 but in looking inside other rooms I would say you can't go wrong. They all seem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    82
    55
    9
    7
    4
See reviews for
47
52
18
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

It's not my first time at Sidi Magdoul, but it was my first time at the terrace room that I loved. The sympathy starts right on the e-mails we ex-changed and then the staff is the most kind and professional, not as a duty but natural in them: each one and as team. This was also what made me come back as they makes you feel home, in the most friendly and clean environment, respecting your privacy, always available, keeping it peacefully warming: and that's contagious to everyone that stays there, no matter how old you are or where you come from. I only have to thank to the whole team for the pleasant stay I had. And hope to have again soon.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, UK
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We drove to the medina and left our cars in the supervised car park to the right of the entrance, where a man with a barrow took our bags and led us to this gem of a hotel hidden in the middle of the medina. Well worth the few dirhams to find it! After the inevitable and very welcome thé à la menthe marocain on arrival we found ourselves in a typical riad, with rooms on two levels over a central courtyard - a true oasis in the turmoil of the medina. Our rooms on the first floor were large and airy, with plenty of space, clean and comfortable. The staff were very welcoming and helpful, and made our regrettably short stay a very pleasant one. The riad is well placed in the middle of the medina, and only a short walk from the shops, the craft stalls, restaurants and harbour. Although this was our second visit to Essaouira, we didn't really have enough time to explore properly, and hope to return to this riad again one day, if only to sample the excellent breakfasts!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

When choosing our hotels in Morocco, we needed parking nearby as we'd come in our own car. Although a little way from the Riad, we had no worries about the attended parking by the port, so we could go on to relax in Essaouira. The Riad itself was plain and practical, but excellent value for money. Returning guests were noisy one night, as were the seagulls, but it's no good getting upset about a degree of noise in an inexpensive riad - it's virtually unavoidable (rather like the vagaries of Moroccan plumbing). The staff here were very helpful indeed, and their additional hints and a good map helped to make our stay very enjoyable indeed.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

riad sidi magdul is a simple and affordable riad in the middle of essaouira. breakfast is very fulfilling (orange juice, coffee/tea, bread, jam and "moroccan pancakes"). Staff are incredibly helpful and very welcoming. the first night we arrived kamal kindly walked with us to a lovely restaurant nearby and made sure we got familiar with the place.
i agree with those who have previously described this riad as a "non-luxury" hotel. compared to other riads, it is absolutely not the nicest nor the best furnished one...(the shower was also not working well)..but for its value, i believe it is a great deal!! bear in mind that essaouira is so beautiful that you will hardly spend time in the riad...

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tourtrol, France
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Very reasonable rates and fantastic service. Staff at this Riad always helpful and go out of their way to asist in any way possible. Right from the start, once we booked we emailed asking for directions/advice on taxis etc, Response was really quick and in both french and english. Welcoming drinks on arrival was a nice touch (especially after travelling with 2 children in tow, it was pure luxury). Lots of great recommendations (camel rides which they arranged for us, les 3 portes restaurant, plus lots more).
Rooms not bad - sheets and towels were a bit tired looking, but adequate and clean.
Breakfast fantastic - freshly squeezed orange juice, followed by coffee/tea/hot chocolate, freshly made crepes followed by fresh bread, butter and jam.
Wi-fi good. We were on the 1st floor and able to use in our room, but much better downstairs (lots of room downstairs). Hot water ok. a little erratic, but manageable. We survived 4 days with 2 kids, so not a problem.
Roof top terrace nice to hang out and escape the crowds. Tables and chairs to sit at and have a cool refreshment.
Great location in a quiet alley way in the middle of the Medina (very central to everything). Pharmacy and place to get clothes washed around the corner. 5 min walk to the beach.
As other reviews have said, this is not a luxury Riad, but the staff are so fantastic, you are made to feel like you are the only ones there. So happy we decided to stay here and look forward to returning.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 4 (1st floor) which was really quiet and could get wifi reception in the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

The Riad is really cheap and with that in mind, it's great. The room was lovely with a comfortable bed and a nice design. The bathroom was big, though you have to remember to replace the plug in the shower basin after showering otherwise it makes the bathroom smell of drains. People have complained in other reviews about the water, but if you ask the staff will show you how to get the hot water running.

The Riad itself is ok, though not great. The communal area downstairs is quite nice but not particularly special, the "sun terrace" is really just a concrete roof. The breakfast is tasty but not inspiring - drink, bread and jam, but the juice is freshly squeezed.

The staff are really friendly and gave us good advice about where to eat and about buying argan oil.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Sidi Magdoul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Sidi Magdoul

Address: 21 rue Sidi Abdesmih | 44100, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 78 hotels in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Riad Sidi Magdoul 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Riad Sidi Magdoul is located just a few steps from the picturesque port (parking with municipal attendant) and the vast beach of Essaouira, in the heart of the artistic and artisan neighbourhoods of the Medina, souks, restaurants, galleries, cafes. The Riad is made of ten rooms all with private bathroom, placed on three floors around a large ‘puits de jour’ – an open space in the center of the Riad from which the light pours in.A bright and sunny terrace offers a view on the roofs of the Medina.Wireless internet connection (WIFI) is freely available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Riad Sidi Magdoul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Sidi Magdoul, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.