We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic gem in the middle of the Medina” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Sidi Magdoul

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Sidi Magdoul to your Saves list
Riad Sidi Magdoul
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   21 rue Sidi Abdesmih | 44100, Essaouira 44000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 77 Hotels in Essaouira
Tourtrol, France
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Fantastic gem in the middle of the Medina”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Very reasonable rates and fantastic service. Staff at this Riad always helpful and go out of their way to asist in any way possible. Right from the start, once we booked we emailed asking for directions/advice on taxis etc, Response was really quick and in both french and english. Welcoming drinks on arrival was a nice touch (especially after travelling with 2 children in tow, it was pure luxury). Lots of great recommendations (camel rides which they arranged for us, les 3 portes restaurant, plus lots more).
Rooms not bad - sheets and towels were a bit tired looking, but adequate and clean.
Breakfast fantastic - freshly squeezed orange juice, followed by coffee/tea/hot chocolate, freshly made crepes followed by fresh bread, butter and jam.
Wi-fi good. We were on the 1st floor and able to use in our room, but much better downstairs (lots of room downstairs). Hot water ok. a little erratic, but manageable. We survived 4 days with 2 kids, so not a problem.
Roof top terrace nice to hang out and escape the crowds. Tables and chairs to sit at and have a cool refreshment.
Great location in a quiet alley way in the middle of the Medina (very central to everything). Pharmacy and place to get clothes washed around the corner. 5 min walk to the beach.
As other reviews have said, this is not a luxury Riad, but the staff are so fantastic, you are made to feel like you are the only ones there. So happy we decided to stay here and look forward to returning.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 4 (1st floor) which was really quiet and could get wifi reception in the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    66
    10
    8
    4
See reviews for
50
59
21
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

The Riad is really cheap and with that in mind, it's great. The room was lovely with a comfortable bed and a nice design. The bathroom was big, though you have to remember to replace the plug in the shower basin after showering otherwise it makes the bathroom smell of drains. People have complained in other reviews about the water, but if you ask the staff will show you how to get the hot water running.

The Riad itself is ok, though not great. The communal area downstairs is quite nice but not particularly special, the "sun terrace" is really just a concrete roof. The breakfast is tasty but not inspiring - drink, bread and jam, but the juice is freshly squeezed.

The staff are really friendly and gave us good advice about where to eat and about buying argan oil.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Sidi Magdoul is a simple, clean riad down an alley in the middle of the medina (old walled town). The staff are very nice and particularly Kamal and Amine go out of their way to help. I've looked at some of the other reviews..yes, I had to go downstairs to access the wifi which did drop me off quite often, and the hot water takes a while to come through and the pressure on the roof is not entirely consistent. So it's not a luxury riad but makes no pretenses to be one.

A great place for travelers, good for kids (there was a 7 year old when I was staying there who was very happy).

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Velez-Malaga, Spain
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

This riad is lovely! Situaded in the middle of the medina of Marrakech, in a quiet alley. Great breakfast, lovely staff and good rooms! The showers sometimes didn't work very well as the hot water came and went and the water pressure was very high (ouch!). The Wi-fi wasn't good either, it only reached the bottom floor and even there it came and went! The rooms are lovely and the staff are very nice and chatty. 100% recommended to travellers in Essaouira.

Room Tip: On the first floor it is more likely that you'll reach and internet connection.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Hotel has good location in the heart od old medina, very close to souk. Owner was very very helpful, friendly and nice. But there was also disadventages. Our room was dark, small and poor. There was practically no hot water. We ought to wait long time to get little of it. Typical european breakfest was included.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
209 helpful votes 209 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

I'm going to start with my frustration with the wireless. It's the single worst WIFI we've experienced after almost 5 months of travel. Everyone there thought so. We absolutely rely on wifi to plan next destinations and communicate back home by blogging and e-mail. This place was SO FRUSTRATING, and it didn't help that the staff was taking up what little bandwidth there was with their own personal laptops and the computer there, which I suspect was also wireless. Fair warning: if you absolutely need to use wireless on this particular leg of your journey, I do NOT recommend staying here. Sorry guys but this absolutely ABSOLUTELY needs to be fixed. It's simply inexcusable in this day and age.

If you DON'T really care about wifi, well then this is the place! The guys at the front are so nice and helpful. They go out of their way to help you find good places, hammams, etc. They love to make you mint tea at any and all times, nor do they charge you for this. i can't speak high enough about how awesome, friendly and helpful the staff is.

Breakfast is basically bread, but very fresh and warm with 3 sides of jam and butter and comes with orange juice and coffee or tea. The hot water is somewhat sporadic, but the rooms are clean, well appointed and the place is in a near perfectly located spot in Ess...close to beach, close to port, close to souks but tucked in a quiet alleyway between the 2 main streets. The place has a communal lounge on the main floor and a great sunny rooftop patio on top. Lastly, it's very inexpensive to stay here and you definitely get a lot for the money.

In short, this is THE place to stay in Ess provided you can get over the utter lack of reliable wifi. Unfortunately, we couldn't.

Room Tip: All rooms are pretty good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gdansk, Poland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

We stayed only one night at this very friendly run Riad.Location could not be more perfect-right in the heart of the charming Medina and close to the Supratour bus station and all important sights.Although the riad is located in one of the narrow streets, it is just off of the main one so easy to find after all.Moreover Essaouira's Medina is not very big so one can navigate through it without many problems.Very good value for money including a simple breakfast.Fact,there was no air condition in our room but you do not need it in October at ll.Staff was absolutely fantastic-very nice and helpful.Thanks guys for making our short stay unforgetable.We were recommended the Les 3 Portes restaurant just arround the corner and we ended up having meal there twice as the place was beautifully decorated,with special ambience and most important -delicoius food.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Sidi Magdoul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Sidi Magdoul

Address: 21 rue Sidi Abdesmih | 44100, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 77 Hotels in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Riad Sidi Magdoul 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Riad Sidi Magdoul is located just a few steps from the picturesque port (parking with municipal attendant) and the vast beach of Essaouira, in the heart of the artistic and artisan neighbourhoods of the Medina, souks, restaurants, galleries, cafes. The Riad is made of ten rooms all with private bathroom, placed on three floors around a large ‘puits de jour’ – an open space in the center of the Riad from which the light pours in.A bright and sunny terrace offers a view on the roofs of the Medina.Wireless internet connection (WIFI) is freely available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Venere, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Riad Sidi Magdoul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Sidi Magdoul, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.