We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice atmosphere and superb staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Petite Perle d'Essaouira

La Petite Perle d'Essaouira
Entre la Place de l'Horloge et La Casbah, Essaouira, Morocco
024 47 50 5
Improve this listing
Ranked #114 of 211 Restaurants in Essaouira
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Nice atmosphere and superb staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

I really enjoyed to have dinner here last week. The owner is really friendly. I also met him in the morning taking care of his next-to-door shop of carpets. Music was good but they should buy new cd player as it seemed stuck any song played.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    32
    18
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good food in a relaxing setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

We arrived in Essaouira quite late in the evening and so were hoping for a quick bite somewhere. We stumbled across this restaurant in the Medina that looked inviting with its candle lit tables and cushions. The food was cheap and cheerful. I had the kefta and semoule, which came out bubbling and was very tasty. They turned it around quickly, which was perfect for us.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Authentic and unpretentious – great value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Among the most affordable but decent eateries in Essaouira, La Petite Perle was one of the most reliable choices for lunch or dinner. It was always open which made it extremely convenient, it was fairly busy – therefore the freshly cooked food, the prices were more than reasonable and the service was good enough.

With a very traditionally Moroccan décor, the atmosphere is quite pleasant, although the benches do not make the seating very comfortable. Their mains are ranging roughly between 40-60MAD, and the set menu-deals between 60-100MAD. As you can imagine, this is not the fanciest of places, but if you wish to experience the real Morocco we found La Petite Perle pretty genuine and unpretentious, with consistently decent plates.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Good food and reasonable prices”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

This restaurant servers tasty food at reasonable prices. It's decorated in Moroccan style and it's very intimate and cozy: candles, low light etc.

Service was a bit slow, but other than that everything was good.

P.S.: Bear in mind they don't serve alcoholic drinks.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“One of my favorite meals in Morocco”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Not only was the atmosphere incredibly charming, everything was a notch above what I had eaten in Fez and Marrakech for the same price—down to the bread and olives. I had the dourado fish couscous with tfaya—a caramelized onion and raisin topping that was to die for. Thick pieces of fresh whitefish were mixed in the delicate, pillow-soft couscous with a subtle sauce. The amount of fish was plentiful and the portions were huge! We were the only ones there when we arrived, but by the time we left, it was totally full.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Petite Perle d'Essaouira also viewed

Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to La Petite Perle d'Essaouira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Petite Perle d'Essaouira, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.