We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect riad. Great value; fantastic experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Chbanate

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Riad Chbanate to your Saves list
Riad Chbanate
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   179 rue Chbanate, Essaouira 44000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 76 Hotels in Essaouira
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Perfect riad. Great value; fantastic experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Wonderful riad. Wonderful experience. Staff couldnt have been more helpful.
The rooms are different and unique with a style that makes you feel like you should be spending a huge amount of money.
So helpful in organising activities - from horse riding to restaurant reservations to cars to the airport. Not forecful, just friendly and helpful.
Great experience.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    376
    36
    4
    4
    0
See reviews for
38
279
17
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
uk
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

After a fantastic, action packed 13 days of seeing the sights of morocco from Mountains to Desert, Cities to Ruins through the great offices of our travel company, Morocco Explored, my family of 5 (all over 18) were ready for a few days downtime by the time we reached Essaouira.

Riad Chabanate looked as if it was a bit out of the way being towards the back of the Medina and the street leading to it is not always as clean as it might be. But walk though the door and an oasis of calm and luxury awaits. Moreover, the Riad serves cold wine and beer which after the general paucity of said substance generally in Morocco , we consumed with some relish!
Noel - the owner/manageress was fantastic; as was Greggie - both super hosts and very helpful. Breakfast was delicious and freshly prepared. The rooms were very comfortable (we had Suite Oriental with the massive elliptical bath and our sons shared Zen Suite). Free Wifi was welcome. The roof terrace was a real sun trap and the Jacuzzi cooling. And the courtyard was a great place to relax with that cool glass of slightly off-dry wine from Languedoc, before hitting the town for an evening meal!
Could the Riad be improved? Of course if one was super picky. But as a place to spend a few days, it was for us perfect!

Room Tip: Zen Suite is slightly odd as the bath is right by the main Suite door - just make sure the door is l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We love our stay of 3 nights in Riad Chbanate. The top floor room has full access to lounging area and jacuzzi which made it very comfortable to relax around . The French owners had made the rooms and general areas very cosy and very tastefully done. They had gone down a path where you have free wifi , bottles of water and soft drinks. All the service staffs were outstanding , always willing to help in every way. Morning breakfast with crepes, local fried pratas, Danish pastries and even eggs done in any way you like, truly delicious and generous for Moroccan standard.

Room Tip: Go for the room on the top floor !
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We came to Essaouira after 3 days in Marrakech and it was a breath of calm, relaxing air! When we walked into the Riad, we were amazed straight away. The building is fantastic. We were there 2 minutes and Noelle (apologies if I have spelled this incorrectly) offered to upgrade us to a better room for free. The room was one of the nicest rooms I have ever stayed in in my life. Amazing. Large marble bathtub, infinity tap, massive rainfall shower in the centre - absolutely amazing. Again. Breakfast was also great, much better than any of the other places we stayed so far (we still have 2 more days in Fes) and everyone was so helpful. Noelle and Greggi (again apologies for the incorrect spelling) were both very friendly and helpful and booked out hammam for us and a camel ride along the beach at sunset (a bit lame I know, but when in Rome etc. etc)

We also needed to get some things printed for our return to Ireland and they happily obliged. They also got us a taxi for our early start to Fes and gave us some bits and pieces to eat for the journey, even though we left the Riad at 6:30 am.

By the way, just a note for anyone staying here - if you come by Supratour bus, the Riad is only 5 mins walk from the station. So, when the Riad says it will collect you, do not look for a taxi ( as we were doing for about 15 mins) but look for a boy with a cart with the Riad's name on the side, as he will take your luggage and walk you to the Riad.

This place was amazing and I would recommend it instantly. If this is only the number 3 Riad in Essaouira, I'd like to see 1 and 2 as this place is faultless.

Finally, I saw the 1 terrible review for this place. That person should not be allowed to review here. She complained about the TV not showing English stations (you are in Morocco), the people who live there "hanging round" the streets outside the Riad (you are in Morocco - this is how the people live in cities) and finally that the staff asked why they hadn't finished breakfast (surely concern as to the quality of food is a good thing???). What anuy of this has to do with the quality of this Riad is beyond me.

Go for it. You will not regret it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

First of all the rooms are very nice, we slept for four nights in the berbere suite and it was delicious.
The breakfast excellent, maybe one of the best we had in morocco so far.
Staff well prepared, english speaking and very helpful.
We loved every detail.
Water is free of charge, which doesn't cost a lot to the hotel but it is a small thing which makes the difference.
We would recommend this place to all our friends.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

French owned Moroccan run elegantly furnished raid. Nasal and greggy are exceptional - could not be more helpful or welcoming. Nawal took my wife to her local hamman, we learnt to cook pastilla with the chef who makes the pastries for breakfast. The medina is a trove of experiences waiting to happen. We were in the city over eid - streets overflowing with celebrants. The raid is a wonderfully peaceful place to return to.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

We just spent 4 nights at Riad Chbanate and loved our stay in this quiet, recently built hotel. Beautiful bedrooms (we enjoyed the suite oriental with its amazing bathroom), super friendly staff, and excellent breakfast. We will return with the rest of the family.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Riad Chbanate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Chbanate

Address: 179 rue Chbanate, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Essaouira
#2 Luxury Hotel in Essaouira
#2 Romantic Hotel in Essaouira
#6 Family Hotel in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Chbanate 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This traditional, 18th century Moroccan residence was once home to the Caid d'Essaouira and his family.Located in the Medina of Essaouira the riad is ideally situated near Bab Marrakech and only a 5 minutes walk from the beach.Through a complete renovation, this authentic riad has been transformed into a residence of modern comfort and elegant surroundings. A jewel of the Essaouira Medina, Riad Chbanate welcomes you with a delicate ambiance created by the timeless magic and perfumes of the Orient. Riad Chbanate has been renovated with care and elegance to offer you an authentic, tasteful, and very comfortable environment. The services provided by Riad Chbanate are worthy of the much larger luxury hotels of Morocco. Step through the door of Riad Chbanate and discover its unique magic. Warm and friendly, with the comfort of luxury hotel services, it is only natural that guests feel at home in Riad Chbanate. Faithful to traditional design, and to ensure exceptional comfort, Riad Chbanate is a perfect blend of Moroccan craftsmanship and modern convenience. In the Moroccan tradition of generous and flavorful meals, Riad Chbanate invites you to discover the specialties of the region with each gourmet dining experience. With attentive service and a personalized concierge, the staff of Riad Chbanate is at your disposal, at all times, for your utmost comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Chbanate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Chbanate Hotel Essaouira

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Chbanate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.