We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top place in fun town!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Chbanate

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Chbanate to your Saves list
Riad Chbanate
179 rue Chbanate, Essaouira 44000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Free room upgrade
Ranked #5 of 77 Hotels in Essaouira
sydney
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Top place in fun town!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Stay here. That's all my review should read. It's how I feel. Kinda sums it all up really. What a truly lovely riad in one of Morocco's funnest towns. The rooms are beautifully and imaginatively appointed and a cool retreat from the town's buzzy pace. The breakfasts were delicious and plentiful, and the courtyard is a friendly heart to this classy place to stay. Greggy greeted us on arrival and he couldn't have been more attentive. His friendly, discrete service is what made this place so memorable. When we checked in (we were a party of 4) I was unwell and he was very quick to ensure I was in one of the air conditioned rooms ready to rest. He couldn't have been more helpful and throughout the rest of our stay (we were there 2 nights) he and the team proved a happy, attentive group with a real knack for customer service. The reason why this place gets a good rave on Tripadvisor is clear to me now. It deserves it. A wonderful place in a great part of town with a top team running it. My hunch is that you won't find better for the price.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    346
    32
    4
    4
    0
See reviews for
35
254
16
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

This was quite possibly one of the most romantic places I've stayed in. The whole experience from the candle lit evenings enjoying a drink in the center of the riad to indulging in a long soak in the sunken bath in our room. The food was amazing both for breakfast and dinner and I would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aarhus
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We stayed in Essaouira in Riad Chbanate for six days on our honeymoon and just loved the place. We were picked up in Marrakesh Airport without any trouble, and when we arrived late in the evening, the riad had a delicious dinner ready with a table in front of the fireplace.

Our room (Hayate Suite, first floor) was amazing and very romantic with lots of ornamentation and traditional Moroccan wood work. Windows were facing the inner court with good light. The spacious bath room had a very large bath tub. Large good quality bed. A look to the small medina street from the window over the bath tub could assure you that you were in fact in Morocco.

We really enjoyed the spacious rooftop terrace as well. It was both possible to stay in the shadow or in the sun. All days we had about 25 degree celcius with a light wind.

The inner court was decorated with lots of flowers, plants, candles and a small fountain - a fantastic atmosphere. We had our breakfast there or enjoyed a glass of wine in the evening. We can recommend dining in the riad too. We enjoyed delicious and very well prepared local specialties and good wine.

The service was fantastic, and we got a lot of good restaurant recommendations as well as useful tips for shopping on the souks. Greggy was always smiling and helpful making us feel so welcome at this riad. We give Riad Chbanate our warmest recommendations, and we definitely want to come back, maybe on our anniversary...

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

This riad is situated in a great location in the medina but close enough to an exit so you don't have to carry your suitcases far. It is peaceful and beautifully designed. The staff were so friendly and attentive. They recommended places for us to visit and even explained how the locals buy their fish from the market and get it cooked for them (which we did). We stayed in the Oriental room for 6 nights and it was lovely with rustic furniture and a large bathtub. The breakfast every morning consisted of fresh fruit salad, toast, pancakes, croissants, pan au chocolate and fresh orange juice. They also provide free bottles of water whenever you need it. There is a terrace with chairs to sunbathe or read. The trick is to find a place out of the wind! I would advise taking a thin cardigan & scarf for protection from the coastal wind.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitchurch, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

This was the fifth and last stop on our trip to morocco. We had 3 nights and would have happily stayed longer. Friendly attentive staff; great room; good location. We found Essaouira a great place to finish off our trip: relaxed, great beach and lovely old Medina. What more could you ask for?

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Sadly we read the bad reviews about this riad and did not book to stay here but stayed elsewhere for two days then to be told they had overbooked the best thing that ever happened as we loaded up and decided that we would go see this Riad. We walked through the door and both my husband and myself went wow. The reception from Noalla was amazing we were offered tea while we waited as she was busy with another client. At this stage we were not sure if they had a vacancy or not but I would have slept on the floor this Riad is spotless and so beautiful. We were shown a room the bath was huge with a wonderful shower and we were told they had to finish getting it ready we were wondering what was left to be done as the bed was made beautifully clean towels and everything appeared in order. When we went back the room and bath had rose petals added as the finishing touches. This Riad has such a wonderful eye for detail and their aim is to ensure the guest is happy we lay out on the roof and had a hot tub as well. One of the cleaning ladies noticed by husbands face was getting burned and offered him a hat and enquired did I need one as I had gone downstairs for a coffee The following morning we had breakfast and oh my god do they do a breakfast to die for it was the best breakfast I have ever had even in five stars hotels they could not compete. So if you are looking at this Riad and debating staying here because of the one bad review do not make the mistake we did and not book you will not be disappointed. The photos just about do this Riad justice the staff are amazing and nothing is too much bother and the owner certainly deserves credit for the high quality of this Riad unfortunately he was away when we stayed here but we hope to return again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

We stayed at the Riad Chbanate for part of our honeymoon in March and we had an amazing experience. The riad is very peaceful, beautiful, relaxing, clean, and romantic. We really appreciated Jean's design and the thoughtful details throughout. We spent two nights in the oriental suite and two nights in the zen suite. Jean and all of the staff took excellent care of us and were extremely kind and helpful. We highly recommend Riad Chbanate.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Chbanate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Chbanate

Address: 179 rue Chbanate, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Essaouira
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Essaouira
#6 Family Hotel in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This traditional, 18th century Moroccan residence was once home to the Caid d'Essaouira and his family.Located in the Medina of Essaouira the riad is ideally situated near Bab Marrakech and only a 5 minutes walk from the beach.Through a complete renovation, this authentic riad has been transformed into a residence of modern comfort and elegant surroundings. A jewel of the Essaouira Medina, Riad Chbanate welcomes you with a delicate ambiance created by the timeless magic and perfumes of the Orient. Riad Chbanate has been renovated with care and elegance to offer you an authentic, tasteful, and very comfortable environment. The services provided by Riad Chbanate are worthy of the much larger luxury hotels of Morocco. Step through the door of Riad Chbanate and discover its unique magic. Warm and friendly, with the comfort of luxury hotel services, it is only natural that guests feel at home in Riad Chbanate. Faithful to traditional design, and to ensure exceptional comfort, Riad Chbanate is a perfect blend of Moroccan craftsmanship and modern convenience. In the Moroccan tradition of generous and flavorful meals, Riad Chbanate invites you to discover the specialties of the region with each gourmet dining experience. With attentive service and a personalized concierge, the staff of Riad Chbanate is at your disposal, at all times, for your utmost comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Riad Chbanate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Chbanate Hotel Essaouira

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Chbanate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.