We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing riad with excellent service!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Chbanate

Save Saved
You added Riad Chbanate to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Riad Chbanate
179 rue Chbanate, Essaouira 44000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% off room rate
Ranked #5 of 78 Hotels in Essaouira
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Amazing riad with excellent service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013 via mobile

The riad was beautiful and all the staff were very friendly. Greg went out of his way to make sure we were having an enjoyable stay and gave really useful advice on where to go and how. Would recommend to anyone planning on going to essaouria.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    324
    31
    4
    4
    0
See reviews for
33
237
16
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Absolutely stunning place. We arrived late at night completely frazzled from a crazy windowless taxi ride from Marrakech. After passing beggars around street fires, bone thin dogs I was sooooo relieved when the giant sturdy door of the Riad Chbanate opened to reveal what looked like the gardens of a palace. I felt like I had stepped into the book Arabian nights. Roses everywhere, water trickling gently from the fountain and the gentle crackling of logs in the relaxing reading room. The guardian offered to make us food (1am in the morning) and then lit the fire in our very own fireplace. The owner a very lovely and charismatic young French men has wonderful taste and style. He told us the tale if how he left home at a young age to see the world. He has brought his vision and romanticism to the Hotel. Exquisite, clean, romantic.. I spent the whole time in the bath!

Room Tip: Choose the room with the big round bathtub!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

I have never stayed anywhere finer. The facilities, assistance and cleanliness were absolutely first rate. Like most riads, there are only 7 rooms, so there's a sense of prestige and a personal experience with the staff that was just first class. Noelle and Greggy were always pleasant and interested in helping us. Their guidance was always useful, and the mint tea the best we had in Morocco. Easily the highlight accommodation of our honeymoon, we wouldn't hesitate to recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

We absolutely loved our Riad in Essaouira, in every single sense. The whole place is beautiful and decorated with such great taste. It was a pleasure to come back every day after our visits and have a ‘thé a la menthe’ in the courtyard or on the terrace.

Our room was really nice, every little detail was special, loved the toiletries (the shower gel and the lait corporel were so nice that we bought some to bring home).

The staff was very friendly and always eager to help. Greggy ‘the boss’, as the real boss calls him, met us at the Supratour station and gave us an excellent brief of the town, including good recommendations of places to drink and eat. We were celebrating our 10 years anniversary and Greggy gave us a bottle of wine!

Breakfast was excellent and abundant, fresh orange juice, fruit, yoghurt, crêpes, Msemmen (Morrocan crepe), croissants, pain au chocolat and jam, honey and Amlou (delicious almond sauce), and we could also order eggs.

I would not hesitate to recommend this place to anyone visiting Essaoiura.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, England
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Wow. It's really quite difficult to put into words just how wonderful this place is.

We stayed at Riad Chbanate for 5 nights in early April and as soon as you walk through the large wooden door you enter an oasis of calm, luxury and great service. The Riad has been beautifully restored from what was essentially a total ruin just 6 years ago. Everything feels very luxurious, authentic and well thought out.

We arrived at around 2pm after travelling from Marrakesh, and were given a map and talked through the local sights, the best restaurants and general experiences to be had by the fantastic Noelle.

We booked Suite Tyfina on the first floor, which was lovely. A really comfy bed, hammock and a huge bath (more than big enough for 2!).

The roof terrace is really nice with great views across the rooftops of the medina to the sea, and the jacuzzi is a bonus when it's a particularly hot day!

Breakfast was great. Fresh fruit and yogurt, toast, pastries, pancakes and fresh orange juice, tea/coffee. We looked forward to it every day.

If you request it in the morning you can have dinner in the riad. You can ask for whatever you'd like and the staff then go and buy what they need to make it for you. We actually didn't do this, but I do regret it slightly as we heard great things from other guests and the atmosphere in the evenings in the comfy restaurant/seating area is really private and romantic.

We went out for dinner each night, but always looked forward to getting back to the riad and settling in front of the open fire for a beer/glass of wine. The staff make you feel so comfortable and the atmosphere is so intimate and lovely that is really is a great end to the evening.

You just need to ask and Noelle/Greggy will make reservations for you at any of the local restauarants.

Last but most definitely not least - the WONDERFUL Noelle and Greggy. Just the most amazing, hospitable people who make you feel like you are family. Nothing is too much trouble, they seem to really enjoy what they do and genuinely care about the guests. They are so enthusiastic and they made our stay even more special.

I'm not ashamed to admit I was little emotional about leaving this place, especially when we were given huge hugs upon leaving!

This is really an amazing place.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

We stayed with our ten month old daughter in April as the first stop on our trip. We were immediately made to feel super welcome especially by Noeul (sorry if spelt wrong) and Greggy (?). They made us feel that nothing was a problem, culminating in Greggy running up and down the stairs every 30 minutes to check our daughter was asleep in the evening. The Riad is stunning, the bath was simply huge and two of you can stretch out in it, amongst the rose petals whilst drinking GnTs. The room was great and the main area downstairs has a lovely fire for sitting by in the evenings. The medina is great and the main markets less than 5 minutes from the Riad, just ask for local tips. The breakfasts were amazing (esp. crepes with Nutella) and The staff always spoke to and kissed our daughter when they saw her. Our evening meal wasn't amazing, however we were offered anything we wanted and we were running a bit late, so perhaps our fault.

Thanks to Jean and team for such a lovely stay and for welcoming us and our daughter.

M,B&A

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wittlich, Germany
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

My husband and I recently spent a few days in Essaouira and we stayed at the Riad Chbanate. it was, hands down, the best customer service I've ever experienced. The rooms are beautiful and super comfortable, the food is superb, and the entire Riad is just gorgeous. I wish that I could relocate this Riad to every location I travel to...I could have stayed for weeks. Riad Chbanate has my absolute highest recommendation!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Chbanate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Chbanate

Address: 179 rue Chbanate, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Essaouira
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Essaouira
#6 Family Hotel in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This traditional, 18th century Moroccan residence was once home to the Caid d'Essaouira and his family.Located in the Medina of Essaouira, and more precisely on rue Chbanate, the riad is ideally situated near Bab Marrakech and only a few minutes’ walk from the beach.Through a complete renovation, this authentic riad has been transformed into a residence of modern comfort and elegant surroundings.A jewel of the Essaouira Medina, Riad Chbanate welcomes you with a delicate ambiance created by the timeless magic and perfumes of the Orient. Riad Chbanate, a former Caid's residence, is hidden in the heart of the Essaouira Medina and has been renovated with care and elegance to offer you an authentic, tasteful, and very comfortable environment. The services provided by Riad Chbanate are worthy of the much larger luxury hotels of Morocco. Step through the door of Riad Chbanate and discover its unique magic.Warm and friendly, with the comfort of luxury hotel services, it is only natural that guests feel at home in Riad Chbanate.Faithful to traditional design, and to ensure exceptional comfort, Riad Chbanate is a perfect blend of Moroccan craftsmanship and modern convenience.In the Moroccan tradition of generous and flavorful meals, Riad Chbanate invites you to discover the specialties of the region with each gourmet dining experience.With attentive service and a personalized concierge, the staff of Riad Chbanate is at your disposal, at all times, for your utmost comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, HotelsClick and TripOnline SA so you can book your Riad Chbanate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Chbanate Hotel Essaouira

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Chbanate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.