We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Chbanate

Save Saved
You added Riad Chbanate to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Riad Chbanate
179 rue Chbanate, Essaouira 44000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
40% off room rate
Ranked #6 of 78 hotels in Essaouira
Essex, England
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Incredible place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Wow. It's really quite difficult to put into words just how wonderful this place is.

We stayed at Riad Chbanate for 5 nights in early April and as soon as you walk through the large wooden door you enter an oasis of calm, luxury and great service. The Riad has been beautifully restored from what was essentially a total ruin just 6 years ago. Everything feels very luxurious, authentic and well thought out.

We arrived at around 2pm after travelling from Marrakesh, and were given a map and talked through the local sights, the best restaurants and general experiences to be had by the fantastic Noelle.

We booked Suite Tyfina on the first floor, which was lovely. A really comfy bed, hammock and a huge bath (more than big enough for 2!).

The roof terrace is really nice with great views across the rooftops of the medina to the sea, and the jacuzzi is a bonus when it's a particularly hot day!

Breakfast was great. Fresh fruit and yogurt, toast, pastries, pancakes and fresh orange juice, tea/coffee. We looked forward to it every day.

If you request it in the morning you can have dinner in the riad. You can ask for whatever you'd like and the staff then go and buy what they need to make it for you. We actually didn't do this, but I do regret it slightly as we heard great things from other guests and the atmosphere in the evenings in the comfy restaurant/seating area is really private and romantic.

We went out for dinner each night, but always looked forward to getting back to the riad and settling in front of the open fire for a beer/glass of wine. The staff make you feel so comfortable and the atmosphere is so intimate and lovely that is really is a great end to the evening.

You just need to ask and Noelle/Greggy will make reservations for you at any of the local restauarants.

Last but most definitely not least - the WONDERFUL Noelle and Greggy. Just the most amazing, hospitable people who make you feel like you are family. Nothing is too much trouble, they seem to really enjoy what they do and genuinely care about the guests. They are so enthusiastic and they made our stay even more special.

I'm not ashamed to admit I was little emotional about leaving this place, especially when we were given huge hugs upon leaving!

This is really an amazing place.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    309
    31
    4
    4
    0
See reviews for
30
228
15
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

We stayed with our ten month old daughter in April as the first stop on our trip. We were immediately made to feel super welcome especially by Noeul (sorry if spelt wrong) and Greggy (?). They made us feel that nothing was a problem, culminating in Greggy running up and down the stairs every 30 minutes to check our daughter was asleep in the evening. The Riad is stunning, the bath was simply huge and two of you can stretch out in it, amongst the rose petals whilst drinking GnTs. The room was great and the main area downstairs has a lovely fire for sitting by in the evenings. The medina is great and the main markets less than 5 minutes from the Riad, just ask for local tips. The breakfasts were amazing (esp. crepes with Nutella) and The staff always spoke to and kissed our daughter when they saw her. Our evening meal wasn't amazing, however we were offered anything we wanted and we were running a bit late, so perhaps our fault.

Thanks to Jean and team for such a lovely stay and for welcoming us and our daughter.

M,B&A

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wittlich, Germany
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

My husband and I recently spent a few days in Essaouira and we stayed at the Riad Chbanate. it was, hands down, the best customer service I've ever experienced. The rooms are beautiful and super comfortable, the food is superb, and the entire Riad is just gorgeous. I wish that I could relocate this Riad to every location I travel to...I could have stayed for weeks. Riad Chbanate has my absolute highest recommendation!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We spent 3 nights here, our stay was very pleasant, the staff very friendly, location perfect, very quiet and easy to find.

Breakfast is good but could be more varied, I used to run on the mornings before breakfast and I was too hungry so... I would put more fruit on it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Exemplary service, very attentive and friendly staff. Drinks and a snack on arrival. Beautiful room with enormous bath and shower. Very comfortable bed. Breakfast 'whenever you like' is delicious. Fresh orange juice, crepes, pain au chocolat, croissants and bread. We also had a tasty fruit salad and yoghurt - yum.

We had a jacuzzi on the small upstairs terrace which was great. Meals can be requested at the Riad which can be cooked as you like, however we chose to eat out. Do not be concerned by the run down exterior on a fairly grim street, the riad is wonderful. A five minute walk gets you to centre of the Medina.

Best place so far in Morocco.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

My wife and stayed here for five days in March 2013.

It's a great place to stay, the staff are great, really great, they just seem to know exactly how to look after you, never in your face, never pushy but really attentive and really nice people.

We stayed in the Oriental room, it has a very good bathroom with a massive bath, great soaps, towels and always has hot water, great way of getting the sand off after a long walk up the windy beach.

The place is French owned with Moroccan staff which makes for a good combination of efficiency and friendliness. Breakfast is good, fresh and always has some great pastries with it. there are fires when it's cool and AC if it gets hot.

The only negative point is the roof terrace, it's a little small for 8 rooms to share and lacks character but is still a pleasant place to spend an afternoon with a good book.

You have to walk through some windy alleys to get to the restaurants and main strip - these are a little confusing initially but you soon get used to it and the location is a lovely place to explore the whole of the beautiful town from.

Definitely add to your shortlist if you're planning a stay in Essaouira - Also don't miss Elizer's Restaurant - you have to book normally but the food is superb.

Room Tip: We had look round all the rooms when they were empty and they are all really good. There's a n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013 via mobile

Delightful stay. Jean was extremely generous, helpful and the experience was absolutely perfect.
The rest of the team was also really nice.
very cosy atmosphere, and a particular attention to details has been brought.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Chbanate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Chbanate

Address: 179 rue Chbanate, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Essaouira
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Essaouira
#6 Family Hotel in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This traditional, 18th century Moroccan residence was once home to the Caid d'Essaouira and his family.Located in the Medina of Essaouira, and more precisely on rue Chbanate, the riad is ideally situated near Bab Marrakech and only a few minutes’ walk from the beach.Through a complete renovation, this authentic riad has been transformed into a residence of modern comfort and elegant surroundings.A jewel of the Essaouira Medina, Riad Chbanate welcomes you with a delicate ambiance created by the timeless magic and perfumes of the Orient. Riad Chbanate, a former Caid's residence, is hidden in the heart of the Essaouira Medina and has been renovated with care and elegance to offer you an authentic, tasteful, and very comfortable environment. The services provided by Riad Chbanate are worthy of the much larger luxury hotels of Morocco. Step through the door of Riad Chbanate and discover its unique magic.Warm and friendly, with the comfort of luxury hotel services, it is only natural that guests feel at home in Riad Chbanate.Faithful to traditional design, and to ensure exceptional comfort, Riad Chbanate is a perfect blend of Moroccan craftsmanship and modern convenience.In the Moroccan tradition of generous and flavorful meals, Riad Chbanate invites you to discover the specialties of the region with each gourmet dining experience.With attentive service and a personalized concierge, the staff of Riad Chbanate is at your disposal, at all times, for your utmost comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Riad Chbanate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Chbanate Hotel Essaouira

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Chbanate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.