We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquil corner of Medina” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Chbanate

Save Saved
You added Riad Chbanate to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Priceline.com
Riad Chbanate
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   179 rue Chbanate, Essaouira 44000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
ROMANTIC PACKAGE DEAL !
Ranked #6 of 78 hotels in Essaouira
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Tranquil corner of Medina”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

We stayed with our ten month old daughter in April as the first stop on our trip. We were immediately made to feel super welcome especially by Noeul (sorry if spelt wrong) and Greggy (?). They made us feel that nothing was a problem, culminating in Greggy running up and down the stairs every 30 minutes to check our daughter was asleep in the evening. The Riad is stunning, the bath was simply huge and two of you can stretch out in it, amongst the rose petals whilst drinking GnTs. The room was great and the main area downstairs has a lovely fire for sitting by in the evenings. The medina is great and the main markets less than 5 minutes from the Riad, just ask for local tips. The breakfasts were amazing (esp. crepes with Nutella) and The staff always spoke to and kissed our daughter when they saw her. Our evening meal wasn't amazing, however we were offered anything we wanted and we were running a bit late, so perhaps our fault.

Thanks to Jean and team for such a lovely stay and for welcoming us and our daughter.

M,B&A

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    290
    25
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
28
211
15
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wittlich, Germany
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

My husband and I recently spent a few days in Essaouira and we stayed at the Riad Chbanate. it was, hands down, the best customer service I've ever experienced. The rooms are beautiful and super comfortable, the food is superb, and the entire Riad is just gorgeous. I wish that I could relocate this Riad to every location I travel to...I could have stayed for weeks. Riad Chbanate has my absolute highest recommendation!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We spent 3 nights here, our stay was very pleasant, the staff very friendly, location perfect, very quiet and easy to find.

Breakfast is good but could be more varied, I used to run on the mornings before breakfast and I was too hungry so... I would put more fruit on it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Exemplary service, very attentive and friendly staff. Drinks and a snack on arrival. Beautiful room with enormous bath and shower. Very comfortable bed. Breakfast 'whenever you like' is delicious. Fresh orange juice, crepes, pain au chocolat, croissants and bread. We also had a tasty fruit salad and yoghurt - yum.

We had a jacuzzi on the small upstairs terrace which was great. Meals can be requested at the Riad which can be cooked as you like, however we chose to eat out. Do not be concerned by the run down exterior on a fairly grim street, the riad is wonderful. A five minute walk gets you to centre of the Medina.

Best place so far in Morocco.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

My wife and stayed here for five days in March 2013.

It's a great place to stay, the staff are great, really great, they just seem to know exactly how to look after you, never in your face, never pushy but really attentive and really nice people.

We stayed in the Oriental room, it has a very good bathroom with a massive bath, great soaps, towels and always has hot water, great way of getting the sand off after a long walk up the windy beach.

The place is French owned with Moroccan staff which makes for a good combination of efficiency and friendliness. Breakfast is good, fresh and always has some great pastries with it. there are fires when it's cool and AC if it gets hot.

The only negative point is the roof terrace, it's a little small for 8 rooms to share and lacks character but is still a pleasant place to spend an afternoon with a good book.

You have to walk through some windy alleys to get to the restaurants and main strip - these are a little confusing initially but you soon get used to it and the location is a lovely place to explore the whole of the beautiful town from.

Definitely add to your shortlist if you're planning a stay in Essaouira - Also don't miss Elizer's Restaurant - you have to book normally but the food is superb.

Room Tip: We had look round all the rooms when they were empty and they are all really good. There's a n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013 via mobile

Delightful stay. Jean was extremely generous, helpful and the experience was absolutely perfect.
The rest of the team was also really nice.
very cosy atmosphere, and a particular attention to details has been brought.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Situated within the medina walls, Jean's riad proved to be a welcome retreat from the hussle and bustle of Essaouira life. From the warm welcome including a cooling beverage through to the sublime comforting pillows everything leant itself to pure comfort and relaxation. If visiting Essaouira, Riad Chabanate is a must.

Room Tip: Tell Jean your preference and he will give you his best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Chbanate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Chbanate

Also Known As:
Riad Chbanate Hotel Essaouira
Riad Chbanate Hotel
Address: 179 rue Chbanate, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Essaouira
#2 Luxury Hotel in Essaouira
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Essaouira
#6 Family Hotel in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Riad Chbanate 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Riad is on the centre of old town and 5 minutes walking from the beach. Surrounded by shops, markets, coffees, pharmacies and restaurants for eating out. Composed of 8 suites with complet bathroom with big bathtube and free 100% natural amenties, flat screen TV, climatization and fireplace, minibar with free sodas. Comfortable littery with egiptyan cotton. Terrace with see view. Charming salon decorated with antique Moroccan furniture, open moroccan kitchen at your service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Riad Chbanate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Chbanate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.