We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and neat, but no extra” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Chbanate

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Chbanate to your Saves list
Riad Chbanate
179 rue Chbanate, Essaouira 44000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free room upgrade
Ranked #5 of 77 Hotels in Essaouira
Brussels
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Nice and neat, but no extra”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Nice and neat place but nothing really special compared to other riads in Morocco. Also, do not go there during the rainy season - all the top floor and the middle"yard" are wet and couches/chairs covered with plastic. Place has a cozy breakfast room with a bonfire - a big extra during the autumn-evenings. Efficient service, but no personal touch/service (as may in some other riads have - they even remember your name etc). No cupboard in our room nor a place for two luggage.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    345
    32
    4
    4
    0
See reviews for
35
253
16
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

So romantic!

great rooms, wonderful bathrooms.
a professional reception, we spent 3 wonderful nights in this hotel
We recommend visitors to Essaouira
We came twice in Essaouira and next time we will not fail to see you again
thank you to all the team of the hotel so charming

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

This was quite possibly one of the most romantic places I've stayed in. The whole experience from the candle lit evenings enjoying a drink in the center of the riad to indulging in a long soak in the sunken bath in our room. The food was amazing both for breakfast and dinner and I would definitely stay here again if I come back to Essaouira.

Room Tip: One with a big bath - they are amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We found this Riad through TA. Such a great find. A little way from the port and main square, but a lovely walk. I felt a little uncomfortable at night walking back from dinner, but it was ok.

Stunning Riad. Lovely rooms. Fantastic breakfast.

Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Great place. The staff are super nice and can't help you enough. Room (the Hyatt room) was amazing complete with a fantastic round bath and shower room. Great little touches like rose petals all across the bathroom when we arrived, endless free mint tea and cakes.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

Having stayed at Riad Chbanate a few months ago, we decided that we would break the habit of a lifetime and actually take the time to review somewhere we've visited. We have both been to the far corners of the world and stayed in some pretty special places but this place has to be the best. In fact, it's the first time we've been somewhere where it would be criminal for us not to spread the word!
The riad itself is sumptous; an idyllic oasis in the sometimes crazy world of Morocco. The rooms are absolutely gorgeous; traditional Moroccan furniture, drapes and decor. Our room (Suite Berbere, the cheapest on offer) was delightful - particularly the enormous limestone bath - and it's hard to imagine how any of the other rooms could be better - although we're sure they are!
Guests are guaranteed excellent service from Jean and the charming Greggy. Both will bend over backwards to assist in any way they can and to ensure everyone's stay is truly memorable. Guests will also be treated to a spectacular breakfast of croissants, pains-au-chocolat, pancakes, jams, spreads, fruit salad, yoghurt, freshly squeezed orange juice and more every morning! The riad also benefits from a gorgeous open-air courtyard where you can relax on low, soft seated furniture and a roof terrace complete with jacuzzi.
We won't rush back to Morocco - only because there are hundreds more countries still to see - but if we do go back, the main reason will be to go back here.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
markham
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

It has taken me too long to write this review as we stayed in february of this year but from the more recent reviews I see the place is just as amazing! We wanted for nothing. Jean and his incredibly attentive staff did everything to make our stay sublime. From the incredible meals(we tried breakfast, lunch and dinner!) to the warm and welcoming common areas to the amazing tub, there is nothing negative to say. My husband and I have travelled extensively and this was our best experience. February in Essaouira is perfect. The sun is warm and inviting. We were surprised to wear everything form our bathing suits to leather jackets and scarves in the evening. Visit Essaouira and this Riad, you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: We stayed on the top floor. It was the best room. A little more private and away from everyone!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Chbanate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Chbanate

Address: 179 rue Chbanate, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Essaouira
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Essaouira
#6 Family Hotel in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This traditional, 18th century Moroccan residence was once home to the Caid d'Essaouira and his family.Located in the Medina of Essaouira the riad is ideally situated near Bab Marrakech and only a 5 minutes walk from the beach.Through a complete renovation, this authentic riad has been transformed into a residence of modern comfort and elegant surroundings. A jewel of the Essaouira Medina, Riad Chbanate welcomes you with a delicate ambiance created by the timeless magic and perfumes of the Orient. Riad Chbanate has been renovated with care and elegance to offer you an authentic, tasteful, and very comfortable environment. The services provided by Riad Chbanate are worthy of the much larger luxury hotels of Morocco. Step through the door of Riad Chbanate and discover its unique magic. Warm and friendly, with the comfort of luxury hotel services, it is only natural that guests feel at home in Riad Chbanate. Faithful to traditional design, and to ensure exceptional comfort, Riad Chbanate is a perfect blend of Moroccan craftsmanship and modern convenience. In the Moroccan tradition of generous and flavorful meals, Riad Chbanate invites you to discover the specialties of the region with each gourmet dining experience. With attentive service and a personalized concierge, the staff of Riad Chbanate is at your disposal, at all times, for your utmost comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Riad Chbanate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Chbanate Hotel Essaouira

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Chbanate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.