We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely riad with charm” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Dayana

Save Saved
You added Dar Dayana to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dar Dayana
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   26 Rue Ibn Khaldoun, Essaouira 44000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 156 Essaouira B&B and Inns
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Lovely riad with charm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

I stayed here with my mum for 3 nights, we felt very well looked after and the breakfast was excellent. The Riad has a lovely garden area and terrace. We stayed in the Corail room and it was perfectly adequate but a little bit on the small side. Our hosts were very kind and helpful and gave very good advice on where to go and what to do. I would highly recommend staying at Dar Dayana. Tamsin

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    38
    15
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
35
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013 via mobile

Very friendly guesthouse through which we discovered a lot of great things and met really nice people. It's clean, beautifully decorated with local arts and crafts and you receive an excellent breakfast. We recommend Dar Dayana! Lisa & Lucas

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Had a great stay here in the turquoise room, which was lovely (but also peeked in the other rooms, and they were all beautifully decorated). The staff was very hospitable and welcoming, the breakfast was superb, and the cooking class with Hakima was fun and delicious. Overall, good value for the price and we would highly recommend this riad.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

I stayed here for 3 nights with my boyfriend and had a fantastic time. The owners were exceptionally welcoming when we arrived and gave us complimentary tea and biscuits along with very good advice as to where to go and what to do. The building is beautiful with a lovely garden area and roof terrace. We saw all of the rooms which are all done up differently, they are all clean and very nicely decorated. Breakfast is provided and was very good, all homemade and plenty of it!! In addition they provide alcohol at a good price, which was a good thing as it can be difficult finding places that sell it.The location was spot on right in the centre of the medina and within 5-10 minute walk to the beach. Overall we thoroughly enjoyed our holiday and would have loved to have stayed for longer, would highly recommend!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bavaria
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012 via mobile

Practically located in the medina, just tucked off a quiet side street not far from the Supratour bus stop, shopping/souk streets, entrance to the beach and nice cafes (eg Caravane Cafe) this riad was a great find. It is run by a retired french couple who cheerily welcomed me in and gave great tips on where to eat and how to make the most out of my short stay in Essaouira.(all tips were spot on great).

The riad is beautifully decorated, has a rooftop terrace as well as the lush inner courtyard (I had my own sunny balcony too!) and free wifi.

There may be lower priced riads (according to tripadvisor and booking.com) but I found the rate we negotiated just fine.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonn
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

Dar Dayana is greatly situated in the center of Essaouira's medina. The court is beautiful, the roof terrace has a nice view over the medina. Our room was nicely furnished but too small. We didn't really have space for our luggage. Service was great and very helpful. Hakima served us a very good breakfast with homemade yoghurt and fresh orange-juice.

Room Tip: We had the purple room which is extremly small. I think they have bigger rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

When you enter Dar Dayana from the busy (and dirty) streets of Essaouira you feel like you have entered a different world. The design of the hotel and the rooms is great and the atmosphere helps you to calm down and relax. The staff is super friendly and helpful. As we were the only guests, we had the roof terrace on our own, and during the day. Halima brought complimentary mince tea, cookies, olives and almonds.

Day Dayana is next to a mosque. So you will wake up at 5am in the morning for the first payer call. It wasn't a problem for us; we got used to to the Islamic rhythm of the day and fell to sleep immediately after the prayer call ended.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dar Dayana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Dayana

Address: 26 Rue Ibn Khaldoun, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 156 B&Bs / Inns in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Dar Dayana 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rare! Riad of charm in the heart of the medina with garden. Located in a quiet street in the heart of the medina, close to the souk, all shops, beach and fishing port, this charming house will enchant you with its garden of banana trees, hibiscus and bougainvillea. Tastefully renovated in the pure tradition (tadelakt zellige, bejmat and thyua ceiling) this house has a lounge and kitchen open onto the garden, 4 bedrooms (amethyst,coral,Turquoise and Onyx), a sun terrace overlooking the rooftops of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Dar Dayana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar Dayana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.