We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful welcome to essaouira” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Sirocco

Le Sirocco
Rue Ibn Roch, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
+212 5244-72396
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #28 of 211 Restaurants in Essaouira
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $11 - $20
Cuisines: Moroccan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Dining on a budget, Entertaining clients, Families with children, Doing business
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Solihull, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“wonderful welcome to essaouira”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

we arrived late at night to essaouira, and were recommended this restaurant by our hotel. We were not expecting much but this restaurant ensured we had a good first start in essaouira.
In a nutshell, wonderful service, beautiful music, cosy interior and excellent food and good value. We had our first taste of Morocco's lamb tagine and mint tea - delicious !Very generous servings of food. Definitely worth a visit!!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    291
    142
    26
    15
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dunblane, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Superb music and atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

You probably couldn't beat this place for atmosphere. There was some first-class music being performed live when I was there, and I believe this goes on every night. Be generous with your tips to the musicians - they are worth it. The food was also excellent, although the length of time between courses was a little long sometimes. But the waitresses were getting involved with the music and dancing, so they could be forgiven! You could hardly not find yourself clapping or toe-tapping. I had a delicious kofta tagine with poached egg and rice - all perfectly cooked. And the chocolate flan the restaurant is famous for is well worth it - and it's not rich or overly sweet either, so you can definitely eat a whole slice yourself! I did :)

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Incredible experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

The atmosphere in this Moroccan-French restaurant is a cut above most other restaurants of this genre. However, where it really shines is atmosphere. The staff is friendly and helpful. The decor is beautiful and cosy. The night that we went a Moroccan band (four members, including drums, guitar, violin and vocals) played an eclectic mix of music including Bob Marley, Manu Chao and the Cuban classic Guantanamara. By the end of the evening the whole restaurant was swaying to the music or dancing.

A superb restaurant. Note: cash only.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Lovely Reastaurant Great Food and Great Staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Well executed traditional style Moroccan food with French influences reasonable prices and wonderful staff making this a great place to enjoy a relaxed meal and drinks. Make sure you visit.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Perfect all-rounder”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

The food is amazing and and very good portion sizes and value for money. The cocktails are yummy! and on the weekend they have live music which really makes the atmosphere and you can find the waitresses and owners dancing around the restaurant!
I would definitely go back many many times!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Sirocco also viewed

Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Le Sirocco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Sirocco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.