We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfort in ancient place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Jade Mogador

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Jade Mogador to your Saves list
Riad Jade Mogador
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   16 Rue Annaser, Essaouira 44000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #52 of 161 Essaouira B&B and Inns
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Comfort in ancient place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

We stayed in this hotel in October last year. Me and my boyfriend absolutely agree with previous positive reviews, very friendly staff and owner, amazing authentic place, clean and with all comfort...we totally loved this riad. Also the price was more than good for place like this, bargaining is necessity of course. We fell in love with Essaouira more than with Marrakech, which was really nice too, just a bit more busy, and we decided to stay longer also thanks to beautiful place we were sleeping at.
Thanks again to you all who was looking after us. All the best in the future!! <3

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    17
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
27
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

We stayed in this fantastic Riad in the central parts of Essaouira for 4 nights, and the staff really made us feel like home. We could use the kitchen and store fresh stuff in the fridge.

Clean room and bathroom (we slept on the top floor), great breakfast and everything you need a few minutes walk away. Even if it was cold outside the room was warm. I strongly recommend this place during your stay in Essaouira!

Stayed December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

We came to this hotel after traveling for three weeks in Morocco and seeing many hotels, this was the best one! We stayed there for five nights and enjoyed every one of them.
The place is run by amazing staff who let us feel at home from the very first moment, they even let us use their kitchen as much as we wanted.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, MA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

It was a pleasure to stay at Riad Jade Mogador, tucked away on a narrow street in the heart of Essaouria's busy, vibrant medina. You step out the front door into the souks and winding streets of the old city. The staff is friendly and extremely pleasant and helpful. We arrived at 2 a.m. and, even after waking up the young woman who runs the riad, were greeted with smiles and a warm welcome. Our room was pure Morocco with beige plaster walls and colorful textiles and stained glass in the windows. Comfortable, affordable and authentic. I'm sure there are five-star luxury hotels outside the medina that might be more familar to western visitors, but I can't reccomend the Jade Mogador enough. You may feel like you'll never find your way back at first when you venture out, but we got the hang of navigating the city maze after a while. Be sure to have your morning coffee up on the roof top for a view of the city and the ocean crashing upon rocks.

Room Tip: We stayed on the third floor with windows that opened out onto the Rue Annasar below. There's no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Macquarie, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

We had a great stay in this riad. We have learnt that you never try and find a riad yourself but you trust the trolley men and pay 20Mad as they know the location of every riad in the medina. We found the location of this riad to be very good and within walking distance of everywhere you want to go. Medinas quieten at night so noise shouldn’t be a problem and we slept very well. This riad is basic but very clean and friendly and has a great room upstairs to chill out with a glass of Moroccan wine and has panoramic views from the roof top. Throughout the riad there are displays of very old Moroccan artefacts and objects. On our visit we had two rooms where one of the showers was luke warm and the other perfect so it is best to check the shower temperature before settling on a room.
The breakfast is good, rooms comfortable and wi-fi from the breakfast area. The price is the best thing and makes this riad very affordable for a longer stay in the great beachside town of Essaouira. Go to the port about 5pm for great light for photography and catch the hustle and bustle of the fishing boats and look back to the light shining on the town. You won’t be disappointed. My next buzz will be from…….

Room Tip: Check water is hot in the shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2011

Nice place to unwind from the city, a terrace with nice views (it will be renovated), nice hearty breakfast and a family athmosphere for this centrally located riad..do not expect luxury, but the riad is very clean and cozy. Our room was facing the street and it was a bit noisy. Wonderful mint tea is served any time of the day and can also be enjoyed on the terrace. When we left I felt like I left the house of some friends..

Room Tip: Ask for a room not facing the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2009

We would highly recommend this lovely guest house. It is a calm retreat from the throng of the town. The family that run the place are very friendly and helpful and the atmosphere is very relaxed. Near to the sea wall - you fall asleep to the sound of the wind and the waves. The breakfasts are great too.

  • Liked — Friendly and relaxing atmosphere
  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Jade Mogador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Jade Mogador

Address: 16 Rue Annaser, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 161 B&Bs / Inns in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Jade Mogador 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Riad Jade Mogador reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Jade Mogador, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.