We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel for relaxed holiday!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Latigeo

Save Saved
You added Dar Latigeo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dar Latigeo
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   12 rue Youssef Ben Tachfine, Essaouira 44000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #55 of 156 Essaouira B&B and Inns
Write a Review

79 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    44
    24
    10
    0
    1
See reviews for
6
44
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

We really enjoyed our 2 nights in this riad, in the middle of the medina. The place was clean and the rooms were very nice. We couldn't find the riad at first, but George and Larby were happy to help us (and pick us up somewhere in the medina) to guide us to the riad. We enjoyed the breakfast and felt comfortable. The location is perfect, so this is a good place to stay when you are in Essaouira!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danang
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

This is just a great place in Essaouira. The location is excellent, it is clean and a great price. The staff are brilliant begining with the owner George and his wife. George is a knowledgeable and affable character fun to be around. Cant say enough good things about Larby, he knows the area and will help you with whatever you need. All in all you cant go wrong with staying here.

Room Tip: all are good from what we could see
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights at the Dar Latigeo after staying in Marrakech, what a relief it was to find a friendly and relaxed Riad such as this in an easy to find location. The host was welcoming as he told us of many good places in Essaouira and never failed to amuse us with his stories of globetrotting over the years. Our only bugbear would be that for the 3 days we were there our towels didn't seem to be changed (plus there was a rather pervy man staying opposite us, not that that's the hotel's faultof course. The atmosphere of the hotel is fantastic, at night you're treated to soft romantic lighting and music playing downstairs in the reception. The staff were great including a young man who brought us mint tea one evening when we were in the reception using the Wi-fi (which unfortunately didn't stretch to our room).

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay and wished we've stayed longer. Host was very welcoming and helpful. Our room was decorated very nicely and everything was super clean. Sleep quality wasn't great as we could hear every noise from room above but that's the only bad thing I can say about this riad. Breakfast was tasty and atmosphere was great. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Betws-y-Coed, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Good clean room and bathroom. Lovely little roof terrace. Tasty breakfast. George and his family were great hosts and gave tips and advice on where to go and sights to see in Essauaira. Try and find the Earth Cafe if you want something different from traditional food.
If you have gps (smartphone etc.) then its a really useful way of finding the house.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Really enjoyed staying here. The owner gave us lots of tips for places to eat and other advice for the town, which turned out to be great. It is down the street by the Bob Marley shop which is easy to spot.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dar Latigeo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Latigeo

Address: 12 rue Youssef Ben Tachfine, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 156 B&Bs / Inns in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Dar Latigeo 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
B/B riad in the Médina Essaouira 6 bedrooms, 4 bathrooms, diningroom, kitchen, livingroom (tv,internet,tel:fax) terrace/patio (bbq), overvue on the ocean. Harbor and beach very close. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Dar Latigeo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar Latigeo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.