We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Latigeo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Dar Latigeo to your Saves list
Dar Latigeo
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   12 rue Youssef Ben Tachfine, Essaouira 44000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #84 of 161 Essaouira B&B and Inns
Vienna, Austria
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Lovely atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Good services, very clean and with nice atmosphere, sweet breakfast, good location. Connection to WiFi was very good. I sincerely recommend it.

If the other guest are very loud, you can hear it and you can not sleep so good.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    25
    10
    0
    5
See reviews for
7
50
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed at this Riad on 6th, 7th sept 2012 for the end of our stay in Essaouira. The owner tx me on the morning we were due, to ask us if we needed picking up, but we declined as we were all ready in the town and knew our way around. [nice gesture]. Very friendly greeting on arrival, with mint tea, made by the housekeeper, whilst waiting for the owner. A lovely lady, who speaks fluent English. She showed us round the Riad [her home as well] and explained to us about meals we could order ect.
We booked a triple room with en- suite bathroom on the first floor, the only other en-suite is a double on the same floor. It was an adequate size and very clean, fine for two nights. We could use the kitchen facilities and big fridge to keep our drinks cool [a must].
On the first day we decided to have dinner at the Riad, made to order by the housekeeper. She cooks it at her own home and brings it to the Riad for the time stated [excellent]. We had a lemon chicken tagine for 3 and a chicken pastilla for 2 [they are huge] more than enough for 3. It was followed by mint tea, coffee and moroccan pastries and fruit [Beautiful]. It was served by the housekeeper herself, you cannot beat service like that! It made us feel quite pampered and special and very homely.
On the terrace [quite a hike up stairs, but all riads are] there is plenty of room for sunbathing and sitting haviing a drink, sunbeds, chairs and tables, parasols ect. There are great views as well.
On the day we were leaving, it was my son's 21st birthday, and they made us a special breakfast. It was a lovely touch for the end of our stay. I did'nt want to leave but we had 4 days left in Marrakesh to celebrate his Birthday.
I would like to thank them for there friendliness and a wonderful stay.
Carole.

Room Tip: 2 rooms on the first floor, both with en-suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

We stayed here during our first visit to Essaouira and couldnt have been happier with our choice.
Our decision to stay here was based mostly on the great reviews we had read about the fantastic hosts and we are pleased to say that Georges you did not disappoint us.

The room was lovely, very clean with a huge bed and we were served a fantastic breakfast on the balcony. Our hosts were so kind and helpful and were really forthcoming with all the local info we needed.

Thank you for making us feel so welcome and we look forward to staying with you again.

Craig and Phyllis
Glasgow, UK

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
christel d, Gérant at Dar Latigeo, responded to this review, June 14, 2012
thanks for your comments
hope to see you again
regards
christel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
O
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

Our room was very dark and small. The windows open only to a noisy atrium where people smoke and chat - which means that it was impossible to get fresh air into the room. The bathroom was dark and small as well and not very clean. Breakfast was ok. However, we had a working heating and the staff was nice and helpful.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keaau, Hawaii
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

My wife and stayed at the Dar Latigeo on the first night of our arrival in Essaouira. We had reservations to stay at another riad for the rest of our visit, but we needed a place for that first night and went to the Dar Latigeo with friends we met on the bus who had reservations for that place.

Crystel, our hostess proved to be one of the most hospitable people we met in Morocco. She gave us lots of helpful advice that greatly enhanced our visit, and she continued to extend hospitality after we moved to our other quarters. These included free tea and pastries when we visited our friends from the bus and an invitation to visit her and drink tea or coffee when I ran into her on the street.

We stayed in the one room that had a private bath. Not only did it have the attached bath, but it was on the first floor, so we didn't need to haul our luggage up too far. The room was quite functional and spacious enough (a bit narrow but long), and the bathroom had a small tub in which I enjoyed a soak.

We also dined at the Dar one night and enjoyed a wonder meal that Katije, prepared for us.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
christel d, Gérant at Dar Latigeo, responded to this review, January 8, 2012
chance of life offers some wonderful meetings .... with you it did!

thank you again and delighted to have participated in some small way to the success of your stay in Essaouira !!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011

We spent four nights at Dar Latigeo. The Guesthouse is situated in the middle of the the old city of Essauoira. Look for the Bob Marley music shop and you will find the place at the very end of the back alley. The place is owned by a frenchmen M. George Vincent. M. Vincent runs the place with his Moroccan wife and they were all very helpful.

The first thing that hits you is the smell of moist. The hosts are very open about that the building is suffering of moisture problems. We made our booking through booking.com. There seems to be a fix price agreement between the online site and the guesthouse, which means that you might get a higher price if you just come in from the street.

The was on the second floor and had it's own bathroom. The room was clean and

Otherwise - the coffee and the breakfast was the best in Morrocco. George Vincents good advice about good restaurants - and the smile you got everymorning just made the stay even better.

Room Tip: Book in advance and do be specific about your needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

We spend at Dar Latiego only one night but Monsieur Jorge and his family (the owners) made our stay wonderful. His hospitality and great sense of humor created very warm memories of our stay here. The Riad itself is very stylish, clean and easy to find (we found it within 10 minutes of our arrival to medina).
Thank you once again Monsieur Jorge!
Olga & Leonyd
Russia, Krasnodar

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dar Latigeo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Latigeo

Address: 12 rue Youssef Ben Tachfine, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Hotel Style:
Ranked #84 of 161 B&Bs / Inns in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Dar Latigeo 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
B/B riad in the Médina Essaouira 6 bedrooms, 4 bathrooms, diningroom, kitchen, livingroom (tv,internet,tel:fax) terrace/patio (bbq), overvue on the ocean. Harbor and beach very close. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Dar Latigeo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar Latigeo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.