We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must for your stay in Essaouira” 5 of 5 stars
Review of l'Atelier Madada

l'Atelier Madada
7, bis rue Youssef El Fassi, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
+212524475512
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 57 Activities in Essaouira
Type: Educational Sites
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: At the entrance of the old medina, in a former almond warehouse, l'Atelier Madada welcomes you under its stone arches. By small groups (8 persons maximum) and supervised by a professional team (a cook and a trilingual presenter) our hosts discover the secrets of Moroccan gastronomy and are initiated into the delights of one of the best cuisine in the world. In a friendly and casual atmosphere, those half-day workshops teach each participant how to prepare a full traditional meal that one can then easily reproduce at home.
London, UK
Top Contributor
288 reviews 288 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 113 cities Reviews in 113 cities
502 helpful votes 502 helpful votes
“A must for your stay in Essaouira”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

I'd always assumed that my tagines were pretty authentic, but coming to this cookery class taught me a lot, and particularly all the errors I'd been making over the years. The French-speaking chef Moona and translator Alison do a really outstanding job of taking one through the intricacies of making a really authentic tagine, which isn't about blowing off the roof of your mouth with spicing or heat. We were also instructed on making harira soup, which is central to the ending of Ramadan. The key with this was ultrafine (obsessional, in fact) chopping of a mix of parsley and coriander which goes into the pot right at the beginning. I also learnt that putting the tagine in the oven is probably the worst thing you could do, as it's designed to cook on top of the stove, or best on charcoal. After a trip to sniff spice mixes in one the souks and a lesson in distinguishing good and bad saffron (good goes yellow when crushed), it was back to the comfort of the dining room of La Table restaurant to consume the results of the morning's cooking and to chat with the other would-be chefs. All in all, a really splendid way of passing half a day and learning a lot about real Moroccan food, and in my case, correcting mistakes derived from reading too many recipe books!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    175
    15
    2
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely BRILLIANT!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Really loved the whole l'Atelier Madada experience! The adorable master chef Mouna who is funny and clearly very knowledgable about Moroccan cooking, the lovely Alison who translated and took us to the spice market, the actual cooking, chopping AND eating! Everything was thoroughly enjoyable! I am definitely coming back!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Best Activity of the Week”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Spent a week in Essaouira doing various acitivities but this was the highlight. The facilities were excellent, the course very informative, and it was just great fun. The top it off the food was excellent (as the chef I would obviously say that!).

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gloucestershire
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“An unforgettable highlight of the holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Wonderful atmosphere created by Mouna and Alison and the beautiful kitchen in which the workshop is conducted. They made it the perfect combination of being informative whilst being entertaining and creating a most enjoyable lunch in good company. The visit to the spice stall whilst the tagines we had "crafted" (as a non-cook I needed a lot of guidance!) were cooking was extremely interesting in itself.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Beautiful setup and delicious food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

My friend and I spent a morning at the atelier making the most delicious aubergine salad and beef tagine with dates and almonds. The property is simply stunning and a somewhat flashier setup than some of the classes I took last year in Vietnam! However I felt the food to be authentic. Mouna is very amusing and Alison great fun with her daughter chipping in delightfully! We also enjoyed a great visit to a herbalist where we felt we could trust the prices and products and even went back afterwards and were offered more tea and some 'petite cadeaux' which was very kind. Alison's stories of her life since coming to essaouira were really interesting aswell! Then we got to enjoy our meal in the very pretty restaurant and have since received lots of recipes by email. We were very lucky as there were only two of us in our class... We later saw a much bigger group which would not have been so much fun or one on one! Thanks for a lovely morning!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed l'Atelier Madada also viewed

Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to l'Atelier Madada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage l'Atelier Madada, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;