We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An unforgettable highlight of the holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of l'Atelier Madada

l'Atelier Madada
7, bis rue Youssef El Fassi, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
+212524475512
Website
Update attraction details
Ranked #5 of 55 activities in Essaouira
Type: Educational Sites
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: At the entrance of the old medina, in a former almond warehouse, l'Atelier Madada welcomes you under its stone arches. By small groups (8 persons maximum) and supervised by a professional team (a cook and a trilingual presenter) our hosts discover the secrets of Moroccan gastronomy and are initiated into the delights of one of the best cuisine in the world. In a friendly and casual atmosphere, those half-day workshops teach each participant how to prepare a full traditional meal that one can then easily reproduce at home.
gloucestershire
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“An unforgettable highlight of the holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Wonderful atmosphere created by Mouna and Alison and the beautiful kitchen in which the workshop is conducted. They made it the perfect combination of being informative whilst being entertaining and creating a most enjoyable lunch in good company. The visit to the spice stall whilst the tagines we had "crafted" (as a non-cook I needed a lot of guidance!) were cooking was extremely interesting in itself.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    162
    11
    1
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shrewsbury, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Beautiful setup and delicious food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

My friend and I spent a morning at the atelier making the most delicious aubergine salad and beef tagine with dates and almonds. The property is simply stunning and a somewhat flashier setup than some of the classes I took last year in Vietnam! However I felt the food to be authentic. Mouna is very amusing and Alison great fun with her daughter chipping in delightfully! We also enjoyed a great visit to a herbalist where we felt we could trust the prices and products and even went back afterwards and were offered more tea and some 'petite cadeaux' which was very kind. Alison's stories of her life since coming to essaouira were really interesting aswell! Then we got to enjoy our meal in the very pretty restaurant and have since received lots of recipes by email. We were very lucky as there were only two of us in our class... We later saw a much bigger group which would not have been so much fun or one on one! Thanks for a lovely morning!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant way to spend half a day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

This cookery school was a wonderful experience and well worth the time and money. Mouna was delightfully strict, making sure that the food we prepared was absolutely delicious. And Alison was first class - a great translator and general font of all knowledge. The trip to the spice market while our tagines bubbled away made the course even better and meeting a spice seller that you knew would provide you with quality goods at a reasonable price was really enjoyable. Returning to consume our yummy courgette chermoula and chicken tagine was a treat - as was the time to chat to the others on the course. A really good experience from start to finish.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bxl
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great fun and delicious food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

I went to one of the cooking workshops with a couple of friends last week and we all enjoyed it immensely. Mouna and Alison are great teachers and Mouna in particular keeps a very close - but friendly - eye on what everyone is doing to make sure that all the meals prepared turn out very tasty! Everyone in the group had the chance to make their own lamb tajine with dried fruits that we then enjoyed eating as it was served to us in the restaurant. The trip to the spice market whilst our tajines were simmering away was also very interesting - a chance to enjoy a cup of tea with one of the local spice sellers and discover all of his special spice mixes! I would definitely recommend this workshop if you have half a day to spend and want to a real hands-on Moroccan cooking experience.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagos, Nigeria
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Cheeky chef”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We booked the L'Atelier cooking class on the recommendation of our Riad and were delighted with the experience. the facilities were excellent and the chef, although limited English, was a cheeky delight. Our translator was extremely helpful and our trip to the spice market very informative and helpful. We enjoyed the food so much we came back that night to the attached restaurant. An experience fully recommended.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed l'Atelier Madada also viewed

Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to l'Atelier Madada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage l'Atelier Madada, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.