We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A delightful golf: good design , great location, excellent conditions.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Golf d'Essaouira Mogador

Golf d'Essaouira Mogador
Essaouira, Morocco
+212-­524-474-346
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 67 Activities in Essaouira
Type: Sports
Attraction details
Paris, France
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A delightful golf: good design , great location, excellent conditions.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Great design, excellent conditions. This golf is extremely well looked after. I had a great time. If you are a golfer, it would be a crime to comme to essaouira without having a round here. I found it relatively easy to play but its famous wind was exceptionnaly light.
Hint: if you don t watt to travel with your golf bag, don't forget to bring a few balls tees and glove.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    35
    5
    0
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Nice golf course”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Would be great when the other course will be open if you stay more than 3 days !!
The pros hop has only Lacoste outfit , expensive and poor choice !

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Terrific fairways and greens”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Liked - quality of the greens and fairways were what I would expect when paying 60 GBP for my golf. The variety of the course layout was challenging and kept the interest up. Lots of variation and each hole carefully moulded into what feels like a mature links landscape. Hospitable feel. No snobbery which I thought might be the case. The manager 'Regis' was welcoming and very helpful indeed. Great driving range, low cost.

Dislikes - there seemed to be a problem with the bunkers, very crusty. Pity that there was no sand in the bunkers of the 2nd course. Pity the second course not yet finished. Reasons?.....money?
Overall, a Teriffic days golf. The 60 GBP rate was a day rate so played 45 holes!!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Absolutely fabuleus course, à must do.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012 via mobile

The courseas in an immaculate condition, superfast greens and the fairways were spotless.
This beats Marrakech courses by far (i played Amelkis and Royal).
Went there twice and each time the hole appeared different. Many sea overlooking views.
Puting is tested to the max.
The terrace of the clubhouse overlooks the sea and serves the amazing Mogador wines with great food. When you are in Marrakech take the Supratours bus and go to Essaouira. Stay in a Riad (for example Chbenate) and play this never to forget course.
well done Gary Player!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“What a fabulous golf course”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

Went late September with friends and will be back again. The Gary Player design is certainly one of the best I have seen and played. From any tee boxes this course will provide you with the challenges you deserve according to your handicap level. Some Black tee boxes are absolutly unreal! the course was very quite and played 36 holes in a day!! we had caddies all along and would recommend to take a buggy for the second round if you were to be as mad as us!! We had a gentle brise and this was great play. However the course would have been a total different one if the wind had been stronger. Located next to the atlantic ocean, be prepared for a links course adventure. My caddy was nice and knowledgable about the course and greens reading. Will certainly come back and play again. We had a deal at 800 dirhams for two rounds inclusive of caddies, this is about £70.....surely you can't beat that.
The Club house offered excellent service and great food. There is a Sofitel on the estate as well but a bit pricy...I recommend the Ibis done the road if you are on a budget.
Go there and have fun, you will enjoy it a lot.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Golf d'Essaouira Mogador also viewed

Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Golf d'Essaouira Mogador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golf d'Essaouira Mogador, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.