We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good food at the port” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant Chez Sam

Restaurant Chez Sam
Au fond du port, Essaouira, Morocco
212(0)44 47 65 13
Update restaurant details
Ranked #95 of 175 restaurants in Essaouira
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Pretty good food at the port”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Overall, pretty good. The fish was fresh and generally done well, though there were some misses - the fish tangine was a bit overcooked. Service was attentive, though not excellent.

The location is all the way in the port at the end of a concrete pier. It's nice during the day to watch the boats come in as you eat, but can seem a bit sketchy at night as you wander through the deserted port.

Would recommend Chalet de la Plage (just a bit down the beach) over this - we found the food fresher and better-executed.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

59% Recommend
    43
    75
    33
    21
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“lovely for lunch and great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

we ate here twice once in the cabin like bit overlooking the water and another time in the back bit right on the water, there were locals here. We thought it was fantastic value for fresh fish and delicious rose wine. Fish platter for one was enough for 2 so next time we got a few fish dishes to share and a salad all lvoely. Service was great apart from first time when we asked for the bill and although service was included he said it wasn't enough and got all huffy which ruined it a bit. Prices didn't seem a lot more than the fish stalls! All in all worth a visit even if only for the views and some lovely fresh fish.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The wonders of Sam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

If you ever go to Essaouira you have to dine at Chez Sam. The location on the tip of pier, the roustic interior, the excellent seafood, wine and service and reasonable prices should not be missed. We opted for a repeat after our first night in Essaoira and were not disappointed the second time either. We are accustomed to perfect seafood and not easy to please!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Foul food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

We went there on a recommendation in our riad, but what a mistake. Quite the worst food we had in Essaouira. Shrimps in garlic were greasy and tasteless. Diners who arrived after us were served with their main courses much earlier and as we suspected our overcooked dried out John Dory with its terrible accompaniment of dire rice and overcooked vegetables must have been sitting under a heat lamp for at least half an hour. No apologies. We left this over-priced restaurant without paying the full bill, which was exorbitant. The most expensive meal we had in our week's stay. Stay away!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marrakech, Morocco
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
“Dinner experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

We came a bit late in the evening, they had almost closed but they still welcomed us with a smile. Very much appreciated when nothing else is opened. The owner is a concerned guy and guest oriented, waiter's are experienced. Tip for food: order simple dishes: ex grilled fish, the quality of fish in there is enough no need for cooking skills. The prices are really good. I recommand this place

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Chez Sam also viewed

Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Restaurant Chez Sam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant Chez Sam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.