We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Donkeys and tortoises” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ecotourisme et Randonnees

Ecotourisme et Randonnees
8 bis rue Houmman el fatouaki, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
00 212 06 15 76 21 31
Update attraction details
Ranked #8 of 55 activities in Essaouira
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Discover the Natural Environnement of Essaouira! You can discover the Argan Woods, the Thuya Forests, and the unimagined world of the Dunes… take mint tea in a berber village, and learn the secrets of a unique and irreplaceable ecosystem at your own pace. Our rangers will give you a guided tour and share their knowledge of the region, on nature trails.
london
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Donkeys and tortoises”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

This was one of the most memorable experiences of our ten days in Essaouira; we wouldn't have missed it for anything. What an inspiration to make possible gentle countryside explorations like this! A friendly and knowledgeable guide took just four of us first to one of the local village weekly markets about 25 kms away. We spent a fascinating hour or more amongst the colour and the buzz of the crowd of people who had come on their donkeys from neighbouring villages to barter and buy (I've never seen so many donkeys!). The rest of the day we meandered through the countryside, along paths through orchards of argan trees, amongst the butterflies and the spring flowers and the bird song and the occasional donkeys trundling back from market with the shopping. We even saw a baby wild tortoise. A delicious tagine in a village home was a real treat and the family so friendly. Later, we bought argan oil from a small womens cooperative where we could watch them shelling and pressing the argan nuts. We felt we had had a privileged inside glimpse of Morocco which we could never have done on our own. Thank you Ottman for being such a congenial and knowledgeable guide!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    147
    36
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sussex
2 reviews
“A chance to experience nature in Morroco”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

We took a half a day walk (4 hours). This walk was an excellent opportunity to see a different aspect from Morroco, not a human being on sight with just goats, donkeys and camels - the beach and sand dunes were incredible and our tour guide, Ottoman, was so professional, knowledgeable and friendly, I could not fault anything on this trip. You also get to visit a local village house. We will treasure this walk for the rest of our lives.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A nice walk in Moroccan nature”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We took part in a nice half-day walk to the waterfalls.

It was a perfect tour. The driver Mohammed Transport was on time and highly-professional, with a very nice van. The tour was great: from a walk through an argan forest, to a magnificent beach, then to the waterfalls. We ended up in a typical berber house, to drink a tea with a local family.

It was a genuine walk, accessible to everyone and very respectful of local environment and population. Our guide (Odgan) was very kind and professional, and the french managers (that you can meet at the restaurant La Decouverte, in Essaouira) are very kind.

I would highly recommend this very short trek (6 km).

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“good trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

we had a morning walking around the argon orchards, visiting a berber home and seeing sights in the fields inland 30mins drive from Essaouira. It was great -- educational, friendly, eye-opening and good value.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great way to give back the community and see the real Essaouira”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

We ddi the waterfall walk which took us through the Argon forest and down onto a deserted beach which was wide and beautiful. Then onto the small waterfall a complete contrast to the dunes. We then had tea and refreshment at a local village.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ecotourisme et Randonnees also viewed

Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Ecotourisme et Randonnees? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ecotourisme et Randonnees, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.