We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hike but too hurry” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ecotourisme et Randonnees

Ecotourisme et Randonnees
8 bis rue Houmam El Fatouaki, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
+212 615-762131
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 57 activities in Essaouira
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Discover the Natural Environnement of Essaouira! You can discover the Argan Woods, the Thuya Forests, and the unimagined world of the Dunes… take mint tea in a berber village, and learn the secrets of a unique and irreplaceable ecosystem at your own pace. Our rangers will give you a guided tour and share their knowledge of the region, on nature trails.
Pegomas, France
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nice hike but too hurry”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

I think that It's an excellent idea to develop the eco responsible tourisme in this rural area of Morocco that's why I searched for a local guide to hike with. The hike I was interested in was confirmed just a couple of days before. It's Tifaouine hike and we did it in group of 6 with french speaking guide Edouard. During this hiking you see really different sceneries: argan plants, ocean beach, waterfalls, agricultural plantation. The nature is really beautiful there. But there was one "but": the guide looked really hurry without any objective reason, he was really speed. I'm sportif and running isn't really problem for me but personnaly I went there to admire & enjoy new landscapes that wasn't unfortunately possible. If you stopped to take a picture the guide continued and you had to hurry un to catch him up. He is actually a knowledgeable and it's interesting to listen to him but again: he talked to the first persone who managed to follow him without stops to explain something or wihtout slow speed walk to talk to all the group like guides usually do (see my picture). He was so fast that we arrived half an hour before the lunch! The lunch at berbers' house was just delicious.
The visite to cooperative was a bit weird. They say it's opened since 2006 and there are 117 woman working there. When we visited it it was closed, they opened it for us. It was extrimely clean and empty, all engines and instruments were new and still packed. Personally I didn't see any trace of any activity there. I don't say there is not but I didn't see any.
To resume, a good idea, nice path but to work on the form: cool rythm and giving informations on surrounds to all clients during the walk are really necessary for this kind of activity.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ECOTOURESSAOUIRA, Propriétaire at Ecotourisme et Randonnees, responded to this review, June 1, 2012
Google Translation
Bonjour,

Vous avez laissé un message sur le site de tripadvisor et je suis très étonné par l'avis que vous avez laissé. Nous souhaitons être à l'écoute de nos clients pour que nos randonnées plaisent à tous.

Dans votre appréciation, vous sous plaignez de la vitesse de la balade avec un commentaire " nous sommes arrivés avec une demie heure d'avance". J'ai déjà fait la balade plusieurs dizaines de fois et aucun des groupes n'est arrivé à la même heure! Cela peut varier de plus 45mn à moins 45mn avec une moyenne déterminée à 14h. Le groupe de randonneurs était sportif et à aucun moment je n'ai attendu une personne parce qu'elle avait une quelconque difficulté. Nous avons fait deux poses ou nous avons pu échanger sur divers sujets. A aucun moment, vous m'avez donné votre sentiment que la randonnée était trop rapide à votre gout! C'est dommage, de ne pas me l'avoir dit, cela aurait évité que vous soyez déçu par le rythme de la randonnée. Nous essayons de laisser le temps à chacun pour prendre des photos et d'admirer le paysage, c'est pour cela que nous ne restons pas groupé comme des écoliers.

Votre deuxième reproche est au sujet de la coopérative Tifaouine. Naima de la coopérative vous a expliqué toutes les difficultés que la coopérative a pour vendre les produits que les femmes font. Les travaux de la nouvelle coopérative viennent juste d'être terminée, et est en train d'être aménagée. Ce qui explique que les machines que vous avez vu, était encore dans les emballages avaient été livrées la veille. Naïma l'a dit et expliqué pendant le repas. C'est cette coopérative que je fais visiter parce que je souhaite plutôt développer une coopérative, loin des routes touristiques. La coopérative Tifaouine est une réelle coopérative et non pas une société privé. Les nouveaux locaux n'ont pas encore été inaugurée! Vous n'imaginez pas toute l'énergie dont font preuve les femmes pour mettre en place une véritable coopérative. J'espère que cette coopérative sera bientôt inaugurée, que ses machines sorties des cartons seront en ordre de marche. Nous ne comprenons pas pourquoi vous n'avez pas posé des questions à Naima ou à moi même pour que l'on vous donne encore plus de précisions sur la mise en place de cette nouvelle coopérative.

Nous trouvons dommageable pour vous et pour nous, que vous n'ayez pas oser dire de ralentir le rythme de la randonnée. Nous n'apprécions pas votre commentaire injuste envers Naima et la coopérative tifaouine, sur l'organisation de la coopérative. Ces femmes font tous pour créer des projets et améliorer leur conditions de vie. Naima a pris le temps de vous donner des explications pendant le repas et pendant la visite, que faire de plus!
Pourquoi de pas vous être exprimé de vive voix le jour de la randonnée plutôt que sur internet? Nous acceptons toutes les critiques quant elles sont justifiées, et là elles nous semblent injustes pour Naima et pour notre activité d'ecotourisme et randonnées.

Cordialement.

Edouard POTTIER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    152
    40
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“A walk beyond town....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

This was a pleasant half day trip to the deserted beaches beyong Sidi Kauki, across the sand dunes, a visit to a local Berber hosue and , of course, a visit to a womens co-op producing argan oil.
The guide, Ottomanm, was friendly and knoblewledgeable - and pitched the walk to suit the participants.
I wish we had know the prices for some of the products at the co-op - maybe a price list in advance, so we contirbuted more to the work the women do.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
“The best way to appreciate Essaouira”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

We opted for the 1/2 day walk along the Wadi. Our guide Otman was very informative and this was a great way to understand the ecosystem and vegetation of the area, beautiful views from the extensive area of dunes and a relaxing rather than strenuous walk. All in all a very informative and enjoyable experience.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Highly reccomended . Knowledgable guide”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011

My friend and I went on the half day Arganier tour. We were the only 2 people with our guide Ottmane. Ottomane had a geology background and was a native of Essaouira and was very informative. We enjoyed the walk, viewing goats, a small mosque and a Berber house where we enjoyed a cup of mint tea and were able to try their bread, olive and Argan oil and honey.
Afterwards we visited a women's cooperative and saw them process the Argan nuts into oil.

The walk took 5 hours. Need good walking shoes as the terrain is full of stones. A hat and sunscreen are essential.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wadi Walk - Essouira”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2011

Walked cross country, along a superb beach and up a Wadi to a farm. 6 - 7 mile hike. Great day, saw plenty wildlife, and learned a lot about the Moroccan way of life from a very knowledgeable guide called Ottoman. Well worth the effort - and not too hot in May!!
Highly recommended.
Jim and Jacque Smith
Inverness, Scotland

Visited May 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ecotourisme et Randonnees also viewed

Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Ecotourisme et Randonnees? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ecotourisme et Randonnees, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Ecotourisme et Randonnees to your Saves list