We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best way to appreciate Essaouira” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ecotourisme et Randonnees

Ecotourisme et Randonnees
8 bis rue Houmam El Fatouaki, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
+212 615-762131
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Discover the Natural Environnement of Essaouira! You can discover the Argan Woods, the Thuya Forests, and the unimagined world of the Dunes… take mint tea in a berber village, and learn the secrets of a unique and irreplaceable ecosystem at your own pace. Our rangers will give you a guided tour and share their knowledge of the region, on nature trails.
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The best way to appreciate Essaouira”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

We opted for the 1/2 day walk along the Wadi. Our guide Otman was very informative and this was a great way to understand the ecosystem and vegetation of the area, beautiful views from the extensive area of dunes and a relaxing rather than strenuous walk. All in all a very informative and enjoyable experience.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    190
    51
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Highly reccomended . Knowledgable guide”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011

My friend and I went on the half day Arganier tour. We were the only 2 people with our guide Ottmane. Ottomane had a geology background and was a native of Essaouira and was very informative. We enjoyed the walk, viewing goats, a small mosque and a Berber house where we enjoyed a cup of mint tea and were able to try their bread, olive and Argan oil and honey.
Afterwards we visited a women's cooperative and saw them process the Argan nuts into oil.

The walk took 5 hours. Need good walking shoes as the terrain is full of stones. A hat and sunscreen are essential.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wadi Walk - Essouira”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2011

Walked cross country, along a superb beach and up a Wadi to a farm. 6 - 7 mile hike. Great day, saw plenty wildlife, and learned a lot about the Moroccan way of life from a very knowledgeable guide called Ottoman. Well worth the effort - and not too hot in May!!
Highly recommended.
Jim and Jacque Smith
Inverness, Scotland

Visited May 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2011

My partner and I joined a half-day tour in English through the Argan Woods. Our guide Ottman (sp?) was very knowledgable and made the trip very interesting. We saw some really nice things - argan trees, a marabout, a berber home and even a goat in a tree! Also enjoyed the mint tea lesson and the visit to the co-operative.

Would def recommend if you were thinking about doing it.

Visited March 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Highly recommended!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2011

Awesome tour with excellent guide! Very interesting. Make sure you wear suncream and broing a bottle of water.

Visited March 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ecotourisme et Randonnees also viewed

Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Ecotourisme et Randonnees? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ecotourisme et Randonnees, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.