We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very warm and welcoming” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ryad Lyon-Mogador

Save Saved
You added Ryad Lyon-Mogador to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ryad Lyon-Mogador
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   39 rue Ceuta, Essaouira 44000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 78 hotels in Essaouira
periain
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Very warm and welcoming”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

The guys at this riad give a very warm welcome, and helped us with anything we needed. Breakfast on the terrace was superb. This is a sure bet if you are looking for value for money, comfort, location, and very personal service.

Room Tip: The family suite is all the way upstairs, but easily fits four adults with space for a baby bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    118
    47
    8
    3
    4
See reviews for
38
83
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

From the moment of arrival to departure this place is nothing short of outstanding! Didier and his wife own this place and live on the premises, they even serve the complimentary breakfast each morning themselves on the rooftop terrace. I was given a history and background of the city as well as attractions and getting around upon arrival. They go out of their way to make sure your stay is the best it can be and you are most comfortable. Hard to believe the breakfast served each morning is included, it was impeccable and the best I've had since staying in Morocco as well as best Ryad. Every city needs a Ryad Lyon Mogador, although I would probably never leave this country :). I can't wait to see this Gem climb the rankings of places to stay in Essaouira. Thank you Didier and Family, I will give nothing but the top recommendation for this place. Merci et Au Revoir!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

The riad is in the middle of the medina, so forget taxi and horse carriage. The only means to transport your luggages into the medina is by asking one of the push cart boys to help. It will cost you from 30-50dh. Arriving in front of the riads' door, we were greeted by Didier and his wife Lorraine, the couple,who owns the riad. Our stay was very nice and quiet. The room was a bit small, but sufficient. The ample bed was cozy and surprisingly comfortable. The undeniable surprise was definitely the breakfast! A mix between Morrocan flat galette and French continental breakfast. It has variety, and it hold our stomach until pass midday. The view of the roof terrace was breathtaking and worth to take picture of the view of the town, and the ocean. We definitely will come back next time we plan to come to Essaouira again.

Room Tip: Pay a little bit more for a bigger room. The room can be a challenge if you are big guys and need mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

First of all, you have to visit Essaouira on a trip to Morocco. Second, you HAVE to stay at Riad Lyon-Mogador when you go. Everything about this riad is perfect; from the excellent breakfast (best we had in Morocco) which is served on the roof with a 360 view of Essaouira medina and the Atlantic ocean to the stylishly renovated rooms where each has its own name and colour.

When you arrive Didier takes the time to give you a personal introduction to Essaouira, what to see, a history of the city, where to eat, and what not to miss. All invaluable information when you are in Essaouira for the first time. Didier and his wife really make you feel at home, and are so helpful that you feel like 'friends of the family' when staying there.

Except for a few times where the hot water supply was a bit patchy (which I'm sure was for the whole neighborhood), we have only positive things to say and highly recommend Riad Lyon-Mogador.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Great location in the very centre of this idyllic little fishing hamlet. Lots of porters to meet you from the bus to help you with your luggage as cars not allowed into the Medina. Accommodation was perfectly clean and a comfortable bed. Breakfast was superb, and the roof terrace has the most incredible views you could imagine. We were made to feel so at home. The recommendations for places to eat and drink were way better than any guide book! We split our stay in Essaouira between here and one of the luxury hotels as it was our first time staying in a Riad, but regretted very much not spending our entire trip here! This is where we will be staying when we return, just hope it's not too long before we get a chance to visit Essaouira again!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

It was not too easy to find the riad if you are the first timer to Essaouira and you choose to stay inside the medina. Be prepared to ask one of the push cart boys who knows the alleys of the medina to transport your luggage and take you to it. Arriving to the riad, it was like going home. Didier and his wife ran it with love and dedication. The standard room we stayed in was relatively small but sufficient for us. The breakfast, however, is fantastic!! the scenery from the roof terrace is breathtaking. When we checked in, Didier ran the map of the medina with us and pointed out some places to see and do. Just excellent service!! The riad is in the center of everything. Once we got our bearing, it was very easy to walk around. Will definitely stay here again in the future.

Room Tip: The room we stayed is rather small, but it is very comfortable. The bed is cozy and excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Stayed here for 5 nights in November (had only booked for 3 but extended our stay). Didier and Lorraine were great hosts and we felt like it was our own place for the duration of our stay! All of Lorraine's recommendations for local restaurants were spot on (esp. Pizza Mama!). Fantastic breakfast on the rooftop terrace was a great way to start each day.
It's a beautiful building and our room was very nice.
Even though it's in a very central location, it's a reasonably difficult place to find upon arrival so i would recommend hiring some help at the bus station or at whatever gate to the Medina you arrive at.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ryad Lyon-Mogador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ryad Lyon-Mogador

Address: 39 rue Ceuta, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Essaouira
#8 Romantic Hotel in Essaouira
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Essaouira
#21 Family Hotel in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ryad Lyon-Mogador 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the old Mogador, on the edge of the Atlantic, the Lyon-Mogador is a "safe haven" in the heart of the medina in the magical city of Essaouira. This charming XVIII, organized on 4 levels, wraps around the skylight. 13 authentic rooms and a terrace offering a panoramic view of the ocean and the Medina, will help make your stay unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Ryad Lyon-Mogador reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ryad Lyon Mogador Essaouira

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ryad Lyon-Mogador, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.