We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ryad Lyon-Mogador

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Ryad Lyon-Mogador to your Saves list
Ryad Lyon-Mogador
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   39 rue Ceuta, Essaouira 44000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 77 Hotels in Essaouira
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Excellent Breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

It was not too easy to find the riad if you are the first timer to Essaouira and you choose to stay inside the medina. Be prepared to ask one of the push cart boys who knows the alleys of the medina to transport your luggage and take you to it. Arriving to the riad, it was like going home. Didier and his wife ran it with love and dedication. The standard room we stayed in was relatively small but sufficient for us. The breakfast, however, is fantastic!! the scenery from the roof terrace is breathtaking. When we checked in, Didier ran the map of the medina with us and pointed out some places to see and do. Just excellent service!! The riad is in the center of everything. Once we got our bearing, it was very easy to walk around. Will definitely stay here again in the future.

Room Tip: The room we stayed is rather small, but it is very comfortable. The bed is cozy and excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    47
    8
    3
    4
See reviews for
40
86
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
dublin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Stayed here for 5 nights in November (had only booked for 3 but extended our stay). Didier and Lorraine were great hosts and we felt like it was our own place for the duration of our stay! All of Lorraine's recommendations for local restaurants were spot on (esp. Pizza Mama!). Fantastic breakfast on the rooftop terrace was a great way to start each day.
It's a beautiful building and our room was very nice.
Even though it's in a very central location, it's a reasonably difficult place to find upon arrival so i would recommend hiring some help at the bus station or at whatever gate to the Medina you arrive at.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herent, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Great place in the old medina.
No acces by car, but porters/chariots are available on every corner.
French owners are running the riad and deliver a great service.
Daily breakfast on roof top terras with view on medina hand sea.
5 floors, No elevator
Nice clean rooms. Streetside rooms van be noisy during dat, but rather quite achter dark

Room Tip: Check out the website of you dont links the stairs(5 floors)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

My father and I stayed here all of last week. The Lyon-Mogador is perfect. Didier and Lorraine were amazing hosts, both really interesting to chat to and super helpful, giving us awesome restaurant advice and knowing where to buy everything for the proper price! I went to bed looking forward to the rooftop breakfast everynight. I will certainly be back. Thanks guys!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Spent four days here and found it to be the perfect riad!

Not easy to find at first unless you take a map or get shown the way to the door...once there however, really welcoming place with lovely owners. I was given a map and some information by Didier while sitting on the roof terrace with a pot of mint tea...perfect!

Room was perfect for me...good facilities and free wifi meant I could use Trip Advisor to decide where to go during my stay!

Breakfast on the roof terrace each morning was excellent...more than enough to start the day off!!

Only a short walk out of the medina to the lovely beach and after a ten minute walk, you can call in at Palma Quad to book the three hour ride out!!

I would definitely recommend staying here...I intend to return in the future!

Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Londres
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

This is the perfect place for anybody who wants to know Essauira. Easy to find from the gate where the taxi leave us, close to the port and the beach.
The building itself is well mainteined and Didier and Lorraine as well as the other staff were very helpfull and nice. The breakfast on the terrace was the best one i have in Morocco, it was apitty that my stomach was not very good(be careful where do you eat fish and be sure that is fresh and just made)
a wonderful place in a marvellous city(for me the best i visit)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harelbeke, Belgium
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

An incredible hotel situated in the middle of the medina. Very nice rooms but most important a very cosy familial atmosphere. Didier and Loraine are admirable persons plenty of energy and enthousiasm. Their tips were most useful. They can be sure I'll come back!! thanx alot Didier and Loraine.

Room Tip: ask a room with a lot of windows...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ryad Lyon-Mogador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ryad Lyon-Mogador

Address: 39 rue Ceuta, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Essaouira
#8 Romantic Hotel in Essaouira
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Essaouira
#21 Family Hotel in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ryad Lyon-Mogador 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the old Mogador, on the edge of the Atlantic, the Lyon-Mogador is a "safe haven" in the heart of the medina in the magical city of Essaouira. This charming XVIII, organized on 4 levels, wraps around the skylight. 13 authentic rooms and a terrace offering a panoramic view of the ocean and the Medina, will help make your stay unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Tingo so you can book your Ryad Lyon-Mogador reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ryad Lyon Mogador Essaouira

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ryad Lyon-Mogador, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.