We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxed and friendly place in a lovely little town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Caverne d'Ali Baba

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Caverne d'Ali Baba to your Saves list
Caverne d'Ali Baba
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   39, Avenue de l'Istiqlal, Essaouira, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 77 Hotels in Essaouira
Devon
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Relaxed and friendly place in a lovely little town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Very relaxed little place with a clean room and excellent, really friendly and helpful service.  Room was a little basic and perhaps not of the highest build quality but had a good comfortable bed and is ideally located in the medina. Overall superb value for money in a lovely little town.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    25
    8
    1
    2
See reviews for
6
27
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jackson Heights, New York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights in October and it was a beautiful hotel. Very well situated (we wandered a bit, as we missed the sign a few times, so look carefully for it!) in the center of the medina. The room were beautifully decorated with stained glass windows, a decorative fireplace, vaulted wood-beamed ceilings, and carved cedar doors. The breakfast (and dinner, not included) were very tasty and the manager was very friendly and helpful. Our only complaint is that our particular room opened onto an alley, which was pretty noisy (and let in a fishy smelling breeze), but since it was warm while we were there, the room would get stuffy if we didn't open the window. A fan would have solved it, but I think usually the city is much windier and cooler, so this might just be a seasonal thing. Overall a great place to stay! Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Maybe asked for a room that doesn't open onto the alley
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

We stayed at Caverne d'Ali Baba for 6 nights. I accidently booked a twin room, which the Hotel Manager changed into a double room (actually a room for 3 people!) without hesitation and at the same price. Great Service though. Also the breakfast was excellent and served in the Salon. The Riad is located in the middle of the Medina at the main street. It is a bit hidden and therefore also quiet and calm, an Oasis in the daily busy life of Essaouira. The building is very old and has a special atmosphere. We would definitely recommend this Riad, because you get good value for the money and a very attentive staff.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a window that goes outside
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
on the road
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

Ali Baba is an old Riad, or walled private house, converted to a hotel. Located in the heart of the Medina, or old walled city, it is set back from the street and closely walled in, so street noise is not a problem.
Staff are very accommodating to traveller requests.
French language is fluently spoken, English less so but communication was not difficult.
Breakfast 8AM to 10:30 consists of crepe or omelette, fruit, juice, bread, jam and honey, tea or coffee.
If you get up early and want coffee, no problem. If you really want yogurt and a banana, no problem - they will go and get it for you.
Strong wi-fi signal in inner courtyard, can pick it up in sitting area outside some of the rooms. Not available in room.
Not airconditioned, but thick walls keep it cool in summer.

Room Tip: every room is different. If possible, ask to see what is available and choose the one you like - the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

We stayed here in Septmeber, Was not so busy in the hotel so we were able to look at most of the rooms and pick the best one. Great service, we only stayed one night and paid £15-16. The room was the nicest one. Beautifully decorated, with a four posted bed, moroccan themed. The shower room was small, but did the job!
The room made up for that. Beautiful view over the bust market streets, lovely traditonal shutter style windows. Was very quiet at night, the market, shops and resturants close at 10pm. only the odd one or two open. So only thing to do is go for a stroll along the sea front!

Great location, just down the road fresh fish bars. You get to see whats on offer before you commit to buying. A few nice resturants down the road and cafes, serving tradional moroccan food. we went to a nice one, forgot its name, but very close to the hotel. Served many moroccan tagines and lovely salads. We told them we were on honey moon so they gave us loads of salad side dishes free and free drinks!
We didnt eat at the hotel and had breakfast out. You can buy coffee, cold drinks and continental breakfast/ moroccan breakfast pretty cheap in the small cafes down the street.

Beautiful town, reccomend at least 2nights here. I didnt get to see everything. There are far much nicer hotels. But if you just need a place to sleep and chill out this place is great and good value for money.
If you want all the mod coms of a western hotel there are larger hotels, on the sea front. That are not personal, and way over priced.

One negative the water was only warm, and we couldnt get hot water in our room. Was ok as it was summer and boiling out.
So much to explore in one day, so next time i go will be 2nights!

Room Tip: Ask to see the rooms, some are large, others are tiny. Some have balconys and windows. Some have no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
world
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

We had a wonderful stay and Haffani (owner?) was very kind and helpful, all the people there were nice.
Good location at the main street of the Medina.

Rooms quiet nice, large for Moroccan standards, real bathroom (real separate room with door) .

We had wonderful stay and we would return without hesitation.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Caverne d'Ali Baba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caverne d'Ali Baba

Address: 39, Avenue de l'Istiqlal, Essaouira, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 77 Hotels in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Caverne d'Ali Baba 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Caverne d'Ali Baba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caverne d'Ali Baba, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.