We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really good italian restaurant family / 70s style” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Elizir

Elizir
1 derb agadir medina, Essaouira, Morocco
0524 47 21 03
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 196 Restaurants in Essaouira
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Really good italian restaurant family / 70s style”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

Very nice but small restaurant has a limited carte but who cares if the food is great!
We had Gnocci as a starter and had barely enough room to allow for chocolate cake, both superb...
Service friendly but not very sophisticated.
Be on time 2030 otherwise its full :-(

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

884 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    663
    158
    41
    12
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Essaouira, Morocco
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best meal all year, v cool establishment with great fresh local produce”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

V cool ambience, amazing decor, this is a cool, kitsch collectors delight with some v cool photography on the walls.

The food was superb, fresh produce and some beautiful dips to start with a selection of warm breads.

delicious tagines and my friends fish and ravioli were melt in the mouth
The desserts were simple and hit the spot perfectly.

This is how every restaurant should be, short, uncomplicated menu with perfectly cooked, un fuzzy food.
I would recommend this to everyone.
V cool music too and lovely friendly owner.
Enjoy

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omagh
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Second visit in two years-food just as good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

This being our second visit in as many years we were hopeful standards were being maintained. We were not disappointed.The steak was cooked to perfection and the fish dinner was just right.The Elizir is a little hard to find but is worth the effort.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gosport, Hampshire
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Fantastic little place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

What a find! Located in the Medina. Go through the main arches and then turn right past the clock tower and through the next arches. Elizir is located just inside the first alleyway, first right. All you see is a door! We arrived at 8.30pm when it opened and already there was a queue to get in. Fascinating place full of 1970's kitch and non-matching furniture. The food was superb and the chocolate cake absolutely delicious so only have a starter or you won't have room for it! Not the cheapest of place but worth every penny.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Top Notch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

Been in Morocco for three weeks and this is by far the best place I've eaten in. I have been twice in one week it's so good! The house complimentary appetiser (selection of dips and bread) is wonderful! I have had the salmon spring roll starter, the steak, lamb tajine, the pear pastilla and chocolate tart- all fantastic! This restauraunt is a must on anyone's list in Essouria or Morocco. Service and decor very good too.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Elizir also viewed

Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Elizir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elizir, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;