We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second visit in two years-food just as good” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Elizir

Elizir
1 derb agadir medina, Essaouira, Morocco
0524 47 21 03
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 192 restaurants in Essaouira
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Omagh
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Second visit in two years-food just as good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

This being our second visit in as many years we were hopeful standards were being maintained. We were not disappointed.The steak was cooked to perfection and the fish dinner was just right.The Elizir is a little hard to find but is worth the effort.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

839 reviews from our community

92% Recommend
    627
    152
    39
    12
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gosport, Hampshire
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Fantastic little place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

What a find! Located in the Medina. Go through the main arches and then turn right past the clock tower and through the next arches. Elizir is located just inside the first alleyway, first right. All you see is a door! We arrived at 8.30pm when it opened and already there was a queue to get in. Fascinating place full of 1970's kitch and non-matching furniture. The food was superb and the chocolate cake absolutely delicious so only have a starter or you won't have room for it! Not the cheapest of place but worth every penny.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Top Notch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

Been in Morocco for three weeks and this is by far the best place I've eaten in. I have been twice in one week it's so good! The house complimentary appetiser (selection of dips and bread) is wonderful! I have had the salmon spring roll starter, the steak, lamb tajine, the pear pastilla and chocolate tart- all fantastic! This restauraunt is a must on anyone's list in Essouria or Morocco. Service and decor very good too.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“A must go when you're in Essaouira”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

Wow. That's the only thing we said after our diner at Elizir. As a cook in The Netherlands, I'm very critical in judging restaurants. After two weeks in Morocco, this is the best experience so far.

The styling of the restaurant is funny, but well thought. The 70's are alive in Elizir! Though the food is quite modern, with a french twist in the moroccan dishes and a morrocan twist in the french dishes. We had a wonderful gnocchi and an even better tajine with lamb. Very tasteful! The chocolatepie was a little too much for our stomic, but we couldn't resist the lovely dessert.

The good food and the kind, personal service made our visit the best night so far in Morocco. A must go for every restaurantlover!!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Not as great as I expected”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

From other reviews it seems as though this should be an amazing restaurant. Unfortunately I was dissapointed by it.

The decor is cute but I felt like I was eating in a junk store.

The food was OK. I had the lamb targine. The meat was tender but if didn't have the flavour of other targines I have had on this trip.

The service was particularly bad. After our meal we had intended to get desert but after waiting 20 mins for service we gave up and chose to go elsewhere.

Perhaps we had an "off" night but this certainly wasn't the experience I was expecting.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Elizir also viewed

Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region

Been to Elizir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elizir, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.