We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent and worth waiting for the door to open at 7:30” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Elizir

Elizir
1 derb agadir medina, Essaouira, Morocco
0524 47 21 03
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 200 Restaurants in Essaouira
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
London, UK
Top Contributor
295 reviews 295 reviews
206 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 116 cities Reviews in 116 cities
511 helpful votes 511 helpful votes
“Excellent and worth waiting for the door to open at 7:30”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Elizir was pointed out to us by our hostess at Dar Beida as being the place to go to. On the basis of one of the other TripAdvisor reviews, we turned up at 7:30 p.m. hoping to get a spare table. Fortunately, we were lucky even on a Saturday evening. The interior is full of charming knick-knacks from the 60s and 70s. The menu is simple with three or four starters and mains. We both chose black cuttlefish risotto and sea bass with couscous. The risotto was sublime and really couldn't be faulted. The sea bass was almost as good, but the cold, roasted red and yellow peppers jarred somewhat. Service was friendly and efficient. The bill came to 630 dirham with a reasonable bottle of house wine. Cards aren't accepted.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

931 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    696
    166
    43
    14
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds UK
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Unique”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

We dined here on the recommendation of our Riad. The restaurant houses the owners collection of 60s/70s memorabilia - you may love it or hate it but you will want to talk about it.
The food was of fantastic quality, fresh and individual - cooked by the ladies upstairs. The owner keeps the Restaurant and its menu small to preserve quality of food and service. The staff were fantastic - service swift and welcoming.
If you only dine one place in Essaouira - make sure you reserve a table here.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best meal of our holiday!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We absolutely loved our experience at Elizir! We didn't have a reservation so turned up at 7.30pm when it opened and luckily got a table and within 15 minutes the restaurant was completely full. They give you a range of sauces and dips to go with your bread which were yummy. The house red wine was also amazing and my lamb and pear tagine was the best tagine I had tasted. It really is a unique restaurant with the 70s decor and you really forget where you are. The service was impeccable and we were not made to feel rushed at all. Definitely a must for anyone visiting Essaouira!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Food and place with a twist”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

A lovely and quirky restaurant with excellent food and service. Amazing mixture of Morrocon and italian cuisine. Mouth watering homemade gnoccis and a filet de boeuf cooked to perfection. Well deserved position in the Trip Advisor ranking.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“delicious food, good service, quirky atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We all really enjoyed our dinner at Elizir, it had been recommended by a friend who had been numerous times and we were not disappointed. it has a small menu, we shared the cuttlefish risotto starter, then lamb tagine / steak and shared the most delicious chocolate tarte served with pistachio icecream - all delicious!! the Moroccan wine is also really good.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Elizir also viewed

Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Elizir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elizir, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.