We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dinner Elizir Restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Elizir

Elizir
1 derb agadir medina, Essaouira, Morocco
0524 47 21 03
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 196 Restaurants in Essaouira
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Waterford, Ireland
2 reviews
“Dinner Elizir Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

You need to book. Relatively small but excellent menu. Really good fresh local food. Cost around E40 each which is pricey for Essouira.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

865 reviews from our community

92% Recommend
    649
    155
    40
    12
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wittlich, Germany
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Phenomenal food in a great location~”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

My husband and I tried to get reservations here on a Monday night, and I now understand why it was difficult to do so. The restaurant is small and cozy (limited tables), but it was mainly because the food is supremely good and people were clamoring to get in. The house red wine is delicious, and the ravioli is the best I've ever had. The decor is very cool, sort of retro Moroccan chic, and it's a great price point. I highly recommend this for an intimate dinner while you're in Essaouira!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Quirky and delicious chocolate torte!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

As others have said a quirky place with eclectic decor and seemingly bonkers menu! Yummy dips and tasty chicken tagine followed by sublime chocolate torte with pistachio ice cream though could have done without the cucumber juice accompaniment!!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
“Quirky Italian-owned restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

We enjoyed our meal at this quirky restaurant. Lots of dips with good bread to start with: courgette puree, pumpkin, really fresh ricotta, aubergine and good olive tapenade - all on the house, glad we skipped the starters! For mains we had pasta with ricotta which was really good, great grilled sea bass with rosemary and couscous, really excellent. The lamb tagine was not as flavoursome as expected though and our only other problem was that we were in a small room with another table of people so we always felt we had to be talking to avoid unwittingly listening in - a bit too close for comfort. On the whole, though, a good experience.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Loved the quirky feel about the restaurant. Food superb. The gnocchi for the starter was excellent and the roast beef was cooked to perfection. The pride the owner has in his restaurant is very clear and made the experience more enjoyable. Our favourite restaurant out of the ten very good restaurants we ate at

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Elizir also viewed

Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Elizir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elizir, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.