We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ambiance fantastic; Food fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Elizir

Elizir
1 derb agadir medina, Essaouira, Morocco
0524 47 21 03
Update restaurant details
Ranked #2 of 175 restaurants in Essaouira
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Omagh
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Ambiance fantastic; Food fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

This restaurant has a great atmosphere and serves excellent food - the steaks are something else and cooked to perfection! The starter, served to everyone, is unusual and very tasty. Highly recommended

  • Visited July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

779 reviews from our community

92% Recommend
    583
    140
    38
    10
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“top kooky night out!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

My trip to Elizar had been greatly anticipated and i was not disappointed. Inside was like stepping back to the 60's... I was in Kitsch heaven! The tiny resturant (28 covers) was over several rooms crammed with cool egg chairs, an arco lamp and other vintage finds. We were warmly greeted and given the delicious free starter of warm bread and a selection of vege dips including homemade tapenade, sweet potato mash and a delicious cooling soft cheese. We chose the house red at 180 dirhams, this was our first taste of Moroccan Wine and was absolutely gorgeous. For mains I had a lamb tagine with pears, it was ok but the starters were a hard act to follow, and my partner had the hand made ravioli which had a lovely subtle taste. We shared a dessert of chocolate torte with homemade mint choc chip ice cream. The bill was just over 500 dirhams which was the most expensive meal that we had during our stay, but when we realised that was about £40 it is actually amazing value. Service was great. Very enjoyable experience and there is nothing else like it in Essaouria.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Original, memorable, want to go again tomorrow”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2011

This restaurant is a delight.....the food highlight of our two weeks in Morocco.
The food challenges, in a new but unpretentious way, the formulaic concepts of some modern restaurants (that sounds very "foodie" but if you go I hope you will understand!).
I can only suggest that you go, relax, expect keen but possible unsophisticated service in a quirky setting, eat great food and enjoy it.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“The Original and The Best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2011

Although others are now attempting to copy the style and ambience of Elizir, it remains a unique creation and ensemble of food, music and service. Without question the menu retains its crisp and flavorful variation of Moroccan and continental cuisine. The formula is a one and only......a young Moroccan owner who pours his heart and soul into the kitchen, the decor, the music and the service. There is nothing like a proprietor who not only creates his own concept but continues to believe in it....and he is determined that every client has a memorable evening. The service and attention that he gives individually is something that his clients long remember and often return for another visit. I am a repeat client and never tire of the feeling of this place...in a very real way for me it's as if I am returning home each time!

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Retro style”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2011

Loved this place. The decor is an eclectic mix of sixties and other styles, but it works here. It is a fun place. Huge stack of vinyl records in one corner. The food is also the best we had in Essaouira - but also the most expensive, but it is worth pampering yourself at least one night. We had a rare steak for main course that was top notch. The dessert was excellent, and crowned a very enjoyable meal.

  • Visited February 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Elizir also viewed

Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Elizir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elizir, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.