We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palmaquad

Palmaquad
70 Boulevard Mohammed V, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
+212 666 709 999
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 60 Activities in Essaouira
Type: Off road/All Terrain Vehicle Trails
Attraction Details
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

I'm normally not a big fan of quad biking but the surroundings of Essaouira lends itself very well to it. The reviews on Palma Quad were teasing and it must be said, they are really true. Perfect reception and preparation (clean and complete equipment, quads are well maintained) and a cheerful crew. We had the two hour trip to Cap Sim with a beautiful beach ride (cows on the beach!) and a tough ride through the sand dunes. Perhaps the three hour trip had been an even better choice. Highly recommended!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    255
    13
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Professional, safe and fun adventure for the whole Family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

What an incredible experience for the whole family. We just returned from our day trip to Essaouira and we ended our visit with a sunset quad trip for the family. We were 4 adults, 5 teens and 1 pre-teen and everyone had the ride of their lives.

We started our adventure by everyone getting outfitted in matching outfits. We were given caps, jackets, scarves, interior and exterior gloves and a helmet. We all matched beautifully and it is a brilliant way to protect ourselves and our clothing, while looking fabulous for our pictures!

With everyone on matching quads, we headed out for a mini lesson and some guidance on "the rules of the road." This was much appreciated since we had 5 teenagers with us who had thoughts of setting out on an adventure of their own. Our 2 guides were prepared and they corralled us all between them so everyone could have a safe and enjoyable ride.

We set out in a caravan and headed for the beach. What an incredible sight. The experience was fantastic and the views were gorgeous. We were taken to a part of the beach that would have been impossible to reach by foot or car. It was secluded and void of people. Miles of beach to ride on safely. We even stopped half way through and were offered cold drinks and chocolate.

I brought a camera and was able to snap some pics, but there was no need. Our guide brought a camera as well, and he took wonderful pics of the group riding and posing on their quads.

When we returned from our adventure, we were given a CD of our experience. What an incredible way to end our perfect day in Essaouira.

We highly recommend this adventure for everyone and we would definitely do it again, if we ever have the opportunity to venture back to Morocco.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Brilliant half day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

A great half day for our party of 5 (18-54). Friendly and well-organised, and first rate equipment (well-maintained Yamaha quads, good overclothes/gloves and helmet). Not cheap but definitely worth it.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“100% recommendable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

During our 1 week trip to Morocco we booked 2 trips with Palma Quad. We were (and still are) impressed with the quality of the material, the friendliness of staff, the professionalism and of course the tours itself.
When we booked the 2nd trip we asked to have the same guide again, who was apparently having a day off for that day, and guess what...he skipped his day off and joined us.
The good impression already starts with the prep, you get a little cap to have no direct contact to the helmet, you get 2 pairs of gloves, helmetand an introduction into quad driving (which is NOT taken off your driving time).
During the trip you get little snacks and cold water, and the guide tries to accomodate your wishes (like "more driving on the beach, more rocky terrain...."), and he takes pictures during th trip.
Upon return, whilest you "undress" and refresh, they burn a CD for you with all the pictures taken (at no extra cost !!!).

All in all an incredible experience and you feel safe all the time !

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Absolutely MUST DO in Essouria”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

I've done a number of ATV tours in morocco, including a few in Essouria. To say Palmaquad is the best would be an understatement. Reality is, in terms of professionalism and experience, the competition is t even in the same league as Palmaquad, and they are priced basically the same. Each tour took basically the same path, and along the way I even saw a few of the other companies.

When you arrive, they set you up with everything you might ever want: jackets, gloves (and inner liner for comfort), helmet, etc. The tour guide takes pictures of you along the way and burns all the photos into a free DVD for you to take home (in a nice case and bag, which is a nice detail). Not only does the guide take pictures of you in action (and sometimes set up special action shots), he also finds interesting sights to take for you-- camels, ruins, cities.

Along the way of my half day tour (do the half day tour, you see much more than the shorter runs), the tour guide took me up and down various terrain and regularly checks in to make sure I'm enjoying the experience. I mentioned wantin something more exciting and he looked for hills that have more dips and climbs, but he was careful to never made it dangerous. Along the way we took a few breaks and they had prepared things like chocolate bars and water, for free.

The view is gorgeous. Not just a highlight of Essouria but really my favorite part of my trip to morroco. Truly breathtaking.

If you are looking for a quad or buggy tour, go to Palma. They truly are by far the best.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Palmaquad also viewed

Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Palmaquad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palmaquad, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.