We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What an amazing experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palmaquad

Palmaquad
70 Boulevard Mohammed V, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
+212 666 709 999
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 58 activities in Essaouira
Type: Off road/All Terrain Vehicle Trails
Attraction Details
London
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“What an amazing experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

We chose this company as it was the top quad biking trip in Essaouira on trip advisor, and we completely agree. Personable, extremely safety conscious and whilst out on the bikes, water, chocolate breaks at appropriate sight-seeing spots. Great terrain along the beach, up and over sand dunes. We went on the three hour trip and highly recommend it! At the end of your experience, you receive a cd of photos that your guide will have taken whilst out on the trip. Wonderful!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    228
    12
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Basildon, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“A MUST do if visiting Essaouira!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

My husband and I did the half day tour (Dhs 550 each) with Driss, our guide. He could not have been better!

It is very easy to find because it is located by the first petrol station on the left you see as you drive away from the Medina. Their flags are up and you usually see some quads parked up.

We first arrived in the morning to the office of Palmaquad. The office is so professional and clean with all the equipment laid out. We were given helmet liners, glove liners, helmets, gloves and a palmaquad jacket.

We were then taken to our quads for our safety briefing. We met our guide, Driss, and he took us round the corner to test our skills. My husband had ridden a road quad before whereas I had never been on a quad but ride motorbikes back at home but soon got to grips with the 125cc quad.

After a couple of circuits round a car park with a small bump we were on our way to Diabat to go off road. We were taken on a wide range of terrain - tarmac, beach, sand dunes, foresty tracks and rocky beach. It was challenging enough for us and so enjoyable.

Water and chocolate snacks were provided. Our guide constantly took photos of our journey and much to our surprise all the photos are given to you on a CD at the end.

At the end of the journey (which we didn't want to end) we had a nice chat with Rachid, the caring and active owner of Palmaquad, who showed us his workshop too (as we run a similar business with motorbikes at home in the UK).

We highly recommend this company and their quads - don't look elsewhere, you will not be dissapointed. We only wish we did the full day tour!

Thank you to all at Palmaquad, Essaouira.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Very professional”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013 via mobile

We did the 3 hour 125cc ride. There was just 2 of us. It was great fun. We had lovely places to break and our guide took great pictures. Great value for money. Could do with some free time to make it perfect but we have told the owne for future.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
1 review
“Awesome experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013 via mobile

You simply have to do this while visiting Essaouira! We didn't try any of the other companies offering quad bike rides for reference, but Palmaquad was just great. Really professional, adaptive to our skills (which of course are impeccable ;) ), and very helpful. They even gave us a ride to the Medina after we were finished. We went for the 2 hour dunes ride with 125cc bikes, which was great. If you are riding the dunes, I don't think you need to go for the 300ccs, as the 125ccs pack quite the punch when the speed limitation is lifted. The ride itself was very versatile and challenging, with rising difficulty as the trip progressed. At the end we had a non-intentional free safari as well, passing a lot of dromedaries, cattle, goats and the like. Highly recommended!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Quad biking in the dunes of Essaouira”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Chose Palma Quad as it was well rated on here; it turned out to be a brilliant choice for our family of 6 to experience riding quads though the dunes and across the beaches south of Essaouira. The trip was well organised from the beginning, with a reassuring focus on safety. First, we were dressed in helmets, gloves, jackets and scarves (to protect from the dust) all of which were either freshly laundered or new. We had two guides who took us carefully through gaining initial control, briefly but thoroughly and then quickly onto the road out of town. It all began to seem a bit tame until we headed across the sand into the real adventure. Once the guides had given us a bit more training on the beach - in a fun and light hearted way - they adjusted the speed restriction on the quads and we headed off south. With a guide at the front and one at the back I felt happy that we were safely taken out over the beach and into the dunes, passing camels, donkey carts and beach shanties. The guides were fantastic at judging our competence and confidence, stopping to give advice and support, particularly to my youngest son who was the least confident initially. We tackled some hairy slopes, again all managed very safely and the whole trip was captured from many angles on the guides cameras. We were provided with water and chocolate half way through which also gave us a fabulous opportunity to stop and take in the scenery. The journey home was a speedy race across the flat sand, when my children were allowed to go as fast as they dared, which was a great adrenaline rush. We were offered a CD of the photos at the end, at no extra cost, with as many copies as we required, which kind of summed up the professionalism and eye for detail you get from this company. The owner was also able to arrange a camel ride for us the next day, which took us north of Essaouira, so that we could see a different part of the city and beach. I would highly recommend this company.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Palmaquad also viewed

Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Palmaquad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palmaquad, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Palmaquad to your Saves list