We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant d'Orient et d'Ailleurs

Restaurant d'Orient et d'Ailleurs
67 bis, rue Touahen | Proche de la Skala de la Medina, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
212 524 47 59 77
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 194 Restaurants in Essaouira
Price range: $8 - $13
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Wifi freeClosed on saturdayOpen from 18.30Menu at 90 dhs and 130 dhsFrench & vegeterian and morrocan cookingMorroco wine cardNo credit card accepted
Top Contributor
257 reviews 257 reviews
151 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 114 cities Reviews in 114 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
“Excellent food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013 via mobile

We took our baby for dinner and the staff were very friendly and welcoming. We had a delicious avocado salad and the vegetable tagine & filet minion for main. All were excellent! Our waiter was very attentive and helpful. One of our best dinners in Morocco!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

524 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    369
    124
    27
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great Frech food and excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

This is the sister restaurant to La Cle de Voute. We ate here on our last night, and it definitely felt like a special occasion. The food is predominantly French with some Moroccan dishes as well. Their seafood pastilla was incredible. I had the seafood au gratin as a main which was rich but delicious. My girlfriend had the seafood pasta which unfortunately was very bland. The service was excellent, and Moroccan wine is available. In my experience I'd give the edge to La Cle de Voute just because on whole our food there was better, but you can't go wrong with either one.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Relaxed dining with lovely food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

Subtle lighting, relaxed atmosphere, delicious amouse Bouche, amazing sea bass tartare and cous cous

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Delicious food and perfect service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

Fantastic restaurant. The food was spot on - tasty tagine and one of the most perfectly cooked sea bream fillets I've tasted in a long time. The owner was humble and charming, and made us feel extremely welcome, whilst the waiter was attentive without being over bearing. The owner's got it right here.. Hopefully we'll have time to check out the sister restaurant nearby.

Highly recommended, that was a lovely evening!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Outstanding restaurant in Essaoira”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

As much as we have thoroughly enjoyed traditional Moroccan cooking we were craving something different. Having consulted trip advisor and seen the superb reviews this restaurant was getting we decided to take a chance and turn up. The welcome was warm, and we were given beautiful dates and caramelised onion as a little appetiser. The menu had good choice but was not overwhelming with extra dishes of the day. We started with a beautifully balanced avocado and orange salad ( totally delicious), followed by red mullet and fillet mignon with curry and rice. Both these dishes were outstanding....2 very clean plates can testify to this. These wonderful mains were topped by a mocha creme brûlée and a fantastic prune, chocolate and Armagnac base topped with a very delicate vanilla ice cream. Absolutely Devine. The ambience was lovely, staff very helpful and attentive and the food was to die for. We absolutely recommend for anyone looking for a special meal .Good value for money.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant d'Orient et d'Ailleurs also viewed

Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Restaurant d'Orient et d'Ailleurs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant d'Orient et d'Ailleurs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.