We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxed dining with lovely food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant d'Orient et d'Ailleurs

Restaurant d'Orient et d'Ailleurs
67 bis, rue Touahen | Proche de la Skala de la Medina, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
212 524 47 59 77
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 199 Restaurants in Essaouira
Price range: $8 - $13
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Wifi freeClosed on saturdayOpen from 18.30Menu at 90 dhs and 130 dhsFrench & vegeterian and morrocan cookingMorroco wine cardNo credit card accepted
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Relaxed dining with lovely food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

Subtle lighting, relaxed atmosphere, delicious amouse Bouche, amazing sea bass tartare and cous cous

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

532 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    375
    126
    27
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Delicious food and perfect service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

Fantastic restaurant. The food was spot on - tasty tagine and one of the most perfectly cooked sea bream fillets I've tasted in a long time. The owner was humble and charming, and made us feel extremely welcome, whilst the waiter was attentive without being over bearing. The owner's got it right here.. Hopefully we'll have time to check out the sister restaurant nearby.

Highly recommended, that was a lovely evening!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Outstanding restaurant in Essaoira”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

As much as we have thoroughly enjoyed traditional Moroccan cooking we were craving something different. Having consulted trip advisor and seen the superb reviews this restaurant was getting we decided to take a chance and turn up. The welcome was warm, and we were given beautiful dates and caramelised onion as a little appetiser. The menu had good choice but was not overwhelming with extra dishes of the day. We started with a beautifully balanced avocado and orange salad ( totally delicious), followed by red mullet and fillet mignon with curry and rice. Both these dishes were outstanding....2 very clean plates can testify to this. These wonderful mains were topped by a mocha creme brûlée and a fantastic prune, chocolate and Armagnac base topped with a very delicate vanilla ice cream. Absolutely Devine. The ambience was lovely, staff very helpful and attentive and the food was to die for. We absolutely recommend for anyone looking for a special meal .Good value for money.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Excellent Food - stood out as a meal from the holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

One of the problems in all towns and cities you go to is filtering out the 100s of restaurants that are just trying to make a quick buck form tourists from those that are actually there to serve great food.

This restaurant is one of the great ones!

Found it on Trip Advisor as being highly rated and we weren't disappointed. I had the special of prawns and rice and my girlfriend had the duck and apple - both were fantastic, I would happily have paid 4x the price in a London restaurant for it!

Add to that a great atmosphere & service and a killer soundtrack playing (Mr Scruff was dropped in there) - defiantly worth visiting.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Excellent choice for something different”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Essaouira has many good restaurants serving local cuisine. Many restaurants are reasonably priced, clean, with friendly service. The one issue, if you spend more than one or two nights in Essaouira, all these restaurants serve exactly the same salads, mains and deserts; it gets monotonous.
Finding something different is not easy unless you want pizza, so discovering d'Orient et d'Ailleurs was a treat. The avocado salad was a welcome change from the typical Moroccan salads. I had the seafood pasta, with the recommended chilli sauce. My wife had the duck with sauté potato. Both dishes excellent, abundant, well presented and different from the standard fair.
The restaurant is easy to find, clean and comfortable; service is friendly. It is upmarket compared to the typical Moroccan restaurant but worth the extra.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant d'Orient et d'Ailleurs also viewed

Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Restaurant d'Orient et d'Ailleurs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant d'Orient et d'Ailleurs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.