We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent choice for something different” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant d'Orient et d'Ailleurs

Restaurant d'Orient et d'Ailleurs
67 bis, rue Touahen | Proche de la Skala de la Medina, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
212 524 47 59 77
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 196 Restaurants in Essaouira
Price range: $8 - $13
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Wifi freeClosed on saturdayOpen from 18.30Menu at 90 dhs and 130 dhsFrench & vegeterian and morrocan cookingMorroco wine cardNo credit card accepted
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Excellent choice for something different”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Essaouira has many good restaurants serving local cuisine. Many restaurants are reasonably priced, clean, with friendly service. The one issue, if you spend more than one or two nights in Essaouira, all these restaurants serve exactly the same salads, mains and deserts; it gets monotonous.
Finding something different is not easy unless you want pizza, so discovering d'Orient et d'Ailleurs was a treat. The avocado salad was a welcome change from the typical Moroccan salads. I had the seafood pasta, with the recommended chilli sauce. My wife had the duck with sauté potato. Both dishes excellent, abundant, well presented and different from the standard fair.
The restaurant is easy to find, clean and comfortable; service is friendly. It is upmarket compared to the typical Moroccan restaurant but worth the extra.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

520 reviews from our community

94% Recommend
    368
    122
    26
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
“Loved eveything about this restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

A wonderful little restaurant in Essaouira, fantastic service and delicious food! I would recommend making a reservation because it is quite a small restaurant, and try the duck you wont be disappointed!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Good restaurant in the heart of the medina”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We booked there following tripadvisor s advices and we were happy.
Food was great especially the duck breast (exquisite). A little bit pricey and doesn't accept credit cards (???!).
The lights and the music perfect and the service was professional and kind.
The only lack of style was the invite to write a review on tripadvisor.
I would have done it anyway since who writes reviews rely on tripadvisor who doesn't just get thereby chance.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winterthur, Switzerland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

My sister recommended the place to me and for once it was good to listen to her.

This place offers absolutely fantastic fusion food in an intimate setting.
There are not many tables which adds to the distinct atmosphere.

The food was probably the best we've had in our two weeks Marocco. Especially the monk fish tartar with limes was outstanding.

If you want something different than the tajines and couscous this is certainly the place to go as the food is delivered with excellence and creativity hardly found elsewhere in Marocco.

If you are in essaouira - try it out!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Awesome Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

We spent two nights in Essaouira and we just did not want to try any other restaurants in town.
The Service and the food are one of a kind.

And..... the Moroccan Seafood Pastilla ???? is a must. ENDULGE YOURSELF.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant d'Orient et d'Ailleurs also viewed

Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Restaurant d'Orient et d'Ailleurs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant d'Orient et d'Ailleurs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.