We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant d'Orient et d'Ailleurs

Restaurant d'Orient et d'Ailleurs
67 bis, rue Touahen | Proche de la Skala de la Medina, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
212 524 47 59 77
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 211 Restaurants in Essaouira
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $8 - $13
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Wifi freeClosed on saturdayOpen from 18.30Menu at 90 dhs and 130 dhsFrench & vegeterian and morrocan cookingMorroco wine cardNo credit card accepted
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Awesome Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

We spent two nights in Essaouira and we just did not want to try any other restaurants in town.
The Service and the food are one of a kind.

And..... the Moroccan Seafood Pastilla ???? is a must. ENDULGE YOURSELF.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

557 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    393
    132
    28
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great little restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Ate here twice during our stay in Essaouira- excellent both times (fusion of Moroccan and French styles), and attentive service but probably helps if you speak French. Veal in particular was excellent. Highly recommended and good value given the quality of the food. Also try it's 'sister' restaurant, La Clé de Voute, which is run by the wife of the owner of this restaurant.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“YUM!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

A lovely little restaurant we stumbled upon near our Riad and surprised us with its scrumptious food. We had the avocado and tomato salad for starters - divine and the fish of the day for main. My goodness me, it was the nicest most delightful white fish I've had with a simple lemony cream dressing on the side, well presented and prepared vegetables. The wine is very nice, local and well priced. Wish I could go back!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waianae, Hawaii
1 review
“Romantic ambiance, good food & music”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We enjoyed a memorable dinner at this restaurant. Food was well prepared, service was friendly and prompt. The atmosphere is cozy, calm and romantic. We especially enjoyed the music, which the owner was happy to introduce us to. Would go back if we had more time in Essaouira.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Good but...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

as this was the top restaurant on trip advisor maybe it had been built up for a fall. Was very good food was lovely, staff and owner nice and service was good but didn't quite live up to expectations. The restaurant itself is nice but doesn't have anything special on some of the other restaurants in Essaouira. maybe its horses for courses and a victim of its own success. Can't fault it really a very good solid restaurant just don't think its worthy of its place on the list but obviously others do.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant d'Orient et d'Ailleurs also viewed

Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Restaurant d'Orient et d'Ailleurs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant d'Orient et d'Ailleurs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.