We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“YUM!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant d'Orient et d'Ailleurs

Restaurant d'Orient et d'Ailleurs
67 bis, rue Touahen | Proche de la Skala de la Medina, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
212 524 47 59 77
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 194 Restaurants in Essaouira
Price range: $8 - $13
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Wifi freeClosed on saturdayOpen from 18.30Menu at 90 dhs and 130 dhsFrench & vegeterian and morrocan cookingMorroco wine cardNo credit card accepted
Melbourne
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“YUM!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

A lovely little restaurant we stumbled upon near our Riad and surprised us with its scrumptious food. We had the avocado and tomato salad for starters - divine and the fish of the day for main. My goodness me, it was the nicest most delightful white fish I've had with a simple lemony cream dressing on the side, well presented and prepared vegetables. The wine is very nice, local and well priced. Wish I could go back!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    369
    123
    27
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Waianae, Hawaii
1 review
“Romantic ambiance, good food & music”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We enjoyed a memorable dinner at this restaurant. Food was well prepared, service was friendly and prompt. The atmosphere is cozy, calm and romantic. We especially enjoyed the music, which the owner was happy to introduce us to. Would go back if we had more time in Essaouira.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Good but...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

as this was the top restaurant on trip advisor maybe it had been built up for a fall. Was very good food was lovely, staff and owner nice and service was good but didn't quite live up to expectations. The restaurant itself is nice but doesn't have anything special on some of the other restaurants in Essaouira. maybe its horses for courses and a victim of its own success. Can't fault it really a very good solid restaurant just don't think its worthy of its place on the list but obviously others do.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
334 reviews 334 reviews
196 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
“French Fare in Essaouira”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our evening and meal at this warm and friendly restaurant. The menu features a mixture of French and Moroccan dishes. We opted for the French dishes, starting with a shared goats cheese salad that was very tasty but could have been a bit larger portion. The steak was generous and very good fillet of Moroccan beef. Our other main course was a gratin with prawns and calamari that was also very good. We didn't have coffee or desserts, but with two glasses of a full-bodied Moroccan red wine and a large bottle of sparkling water our bill came to about 35 Euro which we consider excellent value. The room is quaint, comfortable and intimate. The service is very attentive. The French owner is also a photographer and his portfolio of very interesting photographs is available to browse. We would highly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic dining experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We spent a week in Essaouira and dined at a different restaurant each evening. This was definitely our favourite; an interesting and varied menu, excellent service from Lawrence and superb food. If you're visiting Essaouira then this restaurant is a must. We wanted to try the restaurant run by his wife, Liliana, but ran out of time. If we come back to Essaouira for another holiday we will definitely return. Thank you for a lovely evening.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant d'Orient et d'Ailleurs also viewed

Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Restaurant d'Orient et d'Ailleurs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant d'Orient et d'Ailleurs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.